Posted by: Kennedy | December 6, 2012

Race recap: Tannenbaum 10k

On Sunday, I closed off the 2012 race season with my 10th race of the year, the Tannenbaum 10k in the Beaches.

I won’t beat around the bush: I crushed it. Earned a new 10k PB with a time of 53:17. That’s over a minute faster than my previous PB at the Sporting Life 10k in May – the race that’s famous for its almost entirely downhill route.

Something else to note – it was super mild and raining pretty heavily at the start line. A bit strange considering it had snowed several times the week before. It made dressing for the race somewhat challenging. Although I knew I was going to don these awesome antlers no matter what the weather…

480970_10152296110660717_395387941_n

This was my third year in a row running Tannenbaum. I can’t get over how much it has grown in such a short time. When I ran it in 2010, there were about 200 runners. Just two years later, over 600 people registered and just under 500 ran. The race is getting crazy popular – love it.

Anyway. I met Lynne beforehand and we started out together, but given the size of the race, it was pretty congested for the first kilometre and I quickly lost track of her. However, my friend Miranda caught up to me around the 1k marker and stuck just behind me for the entire race. That is, until 9k when she picked up the pace until the finish line. Major props to her for this feat; I was totally out of gas by that point. You can check out her take on Tannenbaum by reading her race recap.

IMG_1559

Aside from my PB, I had another pretty cool ‘first’ at this race. It was my first time EVER (not just in a race) running 10k straight without stopping. Those who know me know I’m a firm believer in the Running Room’s 10&1 strategy. 10 minutes running, 1 minute walking. I don’t abide by that rule when running 5k races or doing shorter distances during training, but I’ve never gone a full 10k without AT LEAST stopping at water stations. I was pretty psyched when I realized I could keep up my pace, which hovered around 5:10/km, for the entire race. Woot.

I was a hot mess at the finish. Totally sweaty and feeling overdressed with just a t-shirt and light jacket over top. After some celebratory hugs and high fives, I was damp, shivering, and hungry. So we headed to Whitlock’s for their awesome breakfast buffet. I feel like this is going to be something of a tradition…

IMG_0854

Responses

  1. boss! i’ll run one of these with you one day #soon

    • I’m holding you to that!

  2. Congrats on the great time Kennedy!

    • Thanks, Hong! We’ll have to compare 2013 race schedules and see if there’s any overlap.

  3. Love it!! Huge congrats to you! That is awesome! 🙂

    • Thank you, Mama Sampson! xo

  4. Congrats, honey bun!

    • Thanks Jojo! Even though it was raining, we had far better weather than our disastrous attempt in 2010 😉

  5. What a great 10km time!!!!

    • Thank you!

  6. Awesome run! Great work! Let me know where you live in TO – next time I am down maybe we can go for a run.

    • That would be great, Tracy! I’ll message you on FB 🙂

  7. congratulations Kennedy…..maybe someday i will join you in a race!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

