Posted by: Kennedy | March 19, 2012

Photo Challenge, Day 12: Runner’s shadow

*Note: I am now exactly one week behind in my Photo Per Day Challenge. I’m still taking photos and (sometimes) writing every day, but I’ve fallen a bit behind in posting them to the blog. As such, what you’ll see from Day 12 below was actually taken on March 12th, not today. Apologies for my tardiness. 

Day 12: Runner’s shadow

This photo was taken during this morning’s run. I was going for casual, but it came out a little “Angelina Jolie at the Oscars,” didn’t it? 

So I now have a new personal record for longest distance run at once: 25.05 km. On this sunny, spring-like day, I finished my last long training run for Around The Bay, which is just 13 days away. It took me approx. 2 hours and 40 minutes – not sure because using my GPS tracking app for that long while listening to music is impossible and my phone battery died around the 20 km mark. It feels exhilarating to be able to say I ran that far. It was a tough run at times, but I stuck it out and even finished the route with the Avenue Road hill from Davenport to Balmoral. Mentally, I’m glad I did that as there will be some killer hills towards the end of the race. But it also hurts to run that far. A lot. My toes and arches are blistered, my quads and glutes are tight, my left knee hurts (not a good sign) and I feel wiped out in general. I take most of the blame for this – I didn’t run as long or as often as I should have these past few months. I haven’t done nearly enough yoga. But instead of beating myself up over it, I’m going to learn from the experience and make some changes for next time. If running has taught me anything, it’s that life is not about being perfect. It’s about constantly challenging yourself, and growing in the process.

Leave a Reply

Categories

