Posted by: Kennedy | March 5, 2012

30 Days, 30 Photos

Hi friends! Been a while.

I hope you’ve been following along with me as I continue writing about nutrition and all things delicious over at my new website, Kennedy Baker Nutrition.

But today, I wanted to come visit and tell you about a personal challenge I’ve taken on for the month of March. For the next 30 days, I’m going to:

1) take one photograph that I feel is a representation of the day

2) write one paragraph discussing that photograph and its personal meaning or significance

3) post it on the blog for anyone wanting to follow along, or better yet, join in!

I got the idea from this awesome blog called Marc and Angel Hack Life. It’s full of inspiration and positive messages. I recently read this post, which gives a list of 30 challenges you can do over 30 days to create a positive new habit. I’m going to start off with #11 and #30, and perhaps move on to a few more come April. Who knows, maybe I’ll love the photo-per-day challenge so much I’ll stick with it for the year?

I actually started the challenge on March 1st, but it took a few days to get the hang of it so I’m only now getting around to blogging them. Since I like the idea of posting one per day, I’m not going to try and catch up by posting everything at once. I’d rather just be a few days behind and end on April 4th.

Hope you enjoy!

Day 1: Recycling Box

Today I began my commitment to do two things every day for the next month. #1 – Get rid of one thing per day. #2 – Document every day with one photograph and one paragraph. Today’s photograph captures my first attempt at Challenge #1. It’s my recycling box, overflowing with papers, old bills, receipts, and other documents I’ve stashed away in folders, boxes and bags since I moved in. I can’t believe how much crap I’ve collected over the years. I spent close to two hours scouring through it all while listening to Jimi Hendrix and watching ‘Til Debt Do Us Part. It’s not such a menial task when you give the task a soundtrack. And now my bookshelf is organized, my table is finally clear, and I feel so much lighter. The only problem: I just threw out a TON of stuff. Perhaps I should have spread this project out over a week or so, as now I have to come up with another 29 items to get rid of. Will there be anything left in my apartment in April?

Leave a Reply

Categories

