Posted by: Kennedy | January 31, 2012

The brownie that ended my pumpkin “hiatus”

For the month of January, I took a self-imposed pumpkin hiatus.

Over the holidays, I kind of went crazy for the pumpkin. I made pumpkin pecan cinnamon rolls. Pumpkin chocolate chip cookies. Pumpkin spice smoothies. I’m the first to admit, it got a little ridiculous.

This hiatus was taken solely because I was getting sick of the taste. I did not go on a “pumpkin detox.” Why would I? It’s got lots of delicious antioxidants to help prevent cancer and heart disease. Along with other kinds of winter squash, it’s one of the most concentrated vegetable sources of omega-3 essential fatty acids. And it’s loaded with vitamin A, an awesome nutrient for lung health. Lucky me!

Yesterday, as I took stock of my cupboards, I noticed a long-forgotten can of pure pumpkin. It looked so sad, just sitting there, abandoned. I was already planning on baking a little something for a friend, so I thought… alright. Hiatus over.

I set to work, inspired by Meghan’s recipe for butternut squash brownies I salivated over on the weekend.

The end result? Perfectly moist, amazing, dense, delicious, vegan, gluten-free Chocolate Pumpkin Brownies.

Ingredients:

3 squares unsweetened Baker’s chocolate

2 Tbsp coconut oil, divided

½ cup pumpkin puree (fresh or canned)

1/3 cup Turbinado sugar

¼ cup honey

¼ cup unsweetened cocoa powder

2/3 cup unsweetened applesauce

2 tsp vanilla extract

¾ cup gluten-free all-purpose flour

½ tsp baking powder

¼ tsp sea salt

Cinnamon, for garnish

 

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350F.

Melt chocolate and 1 Tbsp of coconut oil in a small saucepan over low heat.

Mix pumpkin, sugar, honey, cocoa powder, applesauce and vanilla in a blender or food processor until well-combined. Then, add the chocolate sauce and blend until smooth.

Pour the mixture into a large bowl and stir in flour, baking powder and salt. Add batter into an 8-inch square pan that’s been coated with the other Tbsp coconut oil and floured. Spread out the mixture with a spatula. Sprinkle cinnamon over top.

Bake for approx. 30 minutes or until an inserted toothpick comes out dry. Cool in the pan on a wire rack. Makes 16 brownies.

Now, the issue that remains… what to do with the rest of that pumpkin? Make another batch of these brownies, obviously. But then what? It was a big can. Any ideas, fellow bakers?

Responses

  1. Excellent post! These look delicious, brownies are a big favorite in my house and these would be an excellent new taste sensation. Great recipe, stop by and say hi,
    http://saltpepperbrilliant.wordpress.com/

  2. Ha ha ha, my husband won’t eat anymore of my pumpkin recipes. I made too many over November and December that he said “enough!” LOL I think it makes a lot of recipes really great!


Leave a Reply

Categories

