Posted by: Kennedy | December 14, 2011

Graduation: The double-edged sword

Friends, today is a pretty big day. It’s my last official day as an IHN student.

Holy cow.

I have so many mixed feelings about finishing school. Seriously, the past few weeks have been an emotional roller coaster…

I’d be bogged down by case studies, assignments and tests that seemed to go on into perpetuity, feeling overwhelmed and stressed (and then stressing about the hit my adrenals were taking from all the stress)… and the next day at school, I’d chatter away to my classmates and be reminded of the amazing support group I had around me. And that in a matter of days, that support wouldn’t be sitting a few feet away from me every day.

Life is full of double-edged swords, isn’t it?

While there is definitely a part of me that is feeling sad – and, let’s be honest, a bit nervous – about having to burst out of my IHN bubble, I’m also totally excited to put all of my nutrition knowledge to good use as a Certified Nutritional Practitioner (fancy, right?).

I still have a lot to figure out… and co-op hours to complete, and one last research paper to write… but I’m looking forward to the many opportunities, challenges and happy fun times that lie ahead!

I’m also looking forward to finally getting back to regularly scheduled blogging. I plan to post much more frequently in 2012, so stay tuned.

And while it’s still fresh, I want to share with you the top 10 most important lessons I learned during my time at IHN (note: they have nothing to do with nutrition!)

Lesson #1: Other people often see us more clearly than we see ourselves.

Lesson #2: You’re never too old to change your life.

Lesson #3: Baking is the best form of procrastination (and I tried several, believe me).

Lesson #4: You can excel at even the scariest challenges if you a) believe you’ll excel; b) do the work; and c) have a great teacher/mentor.

Lesson #5: Optimism rules.

Lesson #6: Your gut knows what’s up. Trust it.

Lesson #7: Stella’s homemade soup and bread is the best $5 lunch in town.

Lesson #8: I am someone who hates to do her work at the last minute. Hates it.

Lesson #9: I am happiest when talking to someone about nutrition. Talking about running is a close second.

Lesson #10: Good friends share food.

 

Before I started classes in January, an IHN alumna told me to expect to graduate a different person. She was right on the money.

And now, I must wish a big CONGRATULATIONS to my fellow IHNers also celebrating their last day of school. Guys, it’s been a killer year. You’re all smart, passionate, inspiring individuals who have touched my life in so many ways. Will miss you dearly…. but I’ll see you in the real world! xo

Responses

  1. Congrats Kennedy! Enjoy your last day…!!

    I have a questions about lesson #7….. where is this $5 lunch in Toronto?

    hugs, Karen

    • At my school! But I strongly believe Stella should open her own cafe and sell that soup, preferably in my neighbourhood.

  2. Kennedy the fun starts now! I miss my classmates too, but you make it work (thanks to technology) and get to enjoy your new life as a professional nutritionist.

    • Thanks Miranda! You are inspiring me daily from afar 🙂

  3. congratulations Kennedy. I am SO PROUD OF YOU!!!!
    Can’t wait to see what’s next in your life
    luv ~mom~

  4. Congratulations!!!!

    I can’t even think about what I’m going to feel like when I finally finish school, it’s years off

    • Thanks Morgan! It’s a strange feeling, for sure. School’s tough, but it’s also safe and familiar. Enjoy it while you can!

  5. Yipeee!!! Celebrations are in order!! (…and I’d like some of those procrastination baking recipes please…)

    • I’ve got a pumpkin cupcake recipe with your name on it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

