Posted by: Kennedy | September 24, 2011

The breakfast that tastes like dessert

I’m probably one of the most boring breakfast-makers out there. I rarely make the exact same dinner recipe twice, but for some reason, I’m a creature of habit when it comes to my morning meal.

About 90 per cent of the time, my breakfast consists of cold rolled oats in almond milk. Once in a while I’ll mix it up with different nuts, seeds, and fruit, but the general formula never changes.

Clearly, I love my oats. They’re healthy, filling and I can make them in less than five minutes – a must for a girl who wakes up famished every morning.

But like many people, I tend to deviate from my routine on weekends. When I have more time, I have more options. And with the arrival of each new season, my appetite seems to change. As the mornings turn cooler, I’m craving warmer foods.

Last weekend, I found myself craving hot oatmeal – for the first time in my life.

That same day, I just happened to come across Oh She Glows’ latest post: her top five favourite hot oatmeal recipes. Her timing could not have been more perfect.

I went straight to #1 on her list – Carrot Cake oatmeal. Umm… yes. If there’s any oatmeal in existence that will convert me to hot oatmeal, it’s one that tastes like carrot cake.

So I decided to make it after my 18k run on Sunday morning (stuck with my trusty toast & PB combo for beforehand).

I had a beautiful run along Mt. Pleasant and the Belt Line, and by the end I think I’d picked up the pace merely in anticipation of this oatmeal. And I hadn’t even tried it yet! But just looking at photos made my stomach growl…

I came home and got right to work:

Ingredients:

1/2 cup regular oats
1 cup almond milk (or substitute)
1 tsp pure vanilla extract
1 large carrot, finely grated
2 tbsp coconut milk cream (use the cream off the top of the full-fat can)
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1/4 tsp ground ginger
Pinch sea salt
1/2 tsp fresh lemon juice
2 tbsp pure maple syrup
2 tbsp crushed walnuts (1 tbsp for mixture and 1 tbsp for topping)
1 tbsp coconut milk cream + 1/2 tsp pure maple syrup, to drizzle on top.

Directions:

Finely grate carrot to yield one heaping cup.

In a medium sized pot over medium heat, add almond milk, lemon juice, and coconut milk cream. Stir well. Add cinnamon, ginger and salt. Stir again until mixed.

Stir in grated carrots and oats. Bring heat to low if it starts to boil. Cook for about 8 minutes, stirring frequently. When the mixture has thickened up, stir in the vanilla extract, 1 tbsp crushed walnuts, and 2 tbsp of maple syrup. Remove from heat and pour into a bowl.

Top with 1 tbsp of crushed walnuts. Drizzle coconut milk cream + maple syrup mixture on top. Garnish with whatever tickles your fancy: more cinnamon, raisins, coconut, etc. Serves 1 large portion or 2 small portions.

I devoured the entire thing.

Next up… pumpkin pie oatmeal

Responses

  1. wow that looks good!! Lets make that some time during the Christmas holidays when you are home. Let me re-phrase that……will YOU make it for ME sometime during the Christmas holidays? I will clean up the kitchen afterwards.


Leave a Reply

Categories

