Posted by: Kennedy | September 22, 2011

Stuffed Acorn Squash

Nothing screams “it’s fall!” like an overflowing pile of pumpkins on display at the grocery store.

But as cute as they are, I must admit I rarely buy them fresh. Yes, I’m more likely to buy the canned stuff because:

a) I’m lazy

b) the thought of struggling to cut through their thick skin with my $10 Ikea knife set kind of terrifies me.

But other, thinner-skinned members of the squash family are another story. I adore a good winter squash. Acorn, spaghetti, butternut… it’s all delish.

Not only are they tasty, versatile, and simple to prepare, they also have nutrition superpowers! They are chockfull of vitamin A, vitamin C and potassium, and those colourful yellows and oranges mean they’ve got lots of phytonutrients.

What does all this mean? Lots of toxin-fighting antioxidants to promote heart health and function of the circulatory system.

A lesser-known benefit of winter squash is that it is one of the most concentrated vegetable sources of alpha-linolenic acid, a.k.a. Omega-3s – and we all know how important those fatty acids are for our brains, hearts, and skin.

Squash is also full of fibre, keeping you satisfied for hours. And after my long run on Sunday morning, I knew I would need a hearty dinner to help my body recover and prevent me from later devouring the box of cookies I got from the 5k the day before.

And boy, did this recipe do the trick. Warm squash belly is the best!

Sweet & Savoury Stuffed Acorn Squash:

Stuffing:

–       ½ cup brown rice, uncooked

–       1 Tbsp olive oil

–       1/3 red onion, chopped

–       1-2 cloves garlic, minced

–       1 cup kale, chopped

–       ½ red bell pepper, chopped

–       1 Tbsp chopped fresh parsley

–       Pepper & sea salt, to taste

–       ¼ cup goat cheese, sprinkled on top

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400F. Cut acorn squash in half and place on lined baking sheet, fleshy side facing down. Bake for approx. 30 minutes.

In the meantime, cook brown rice on stovetop while you prepare vegetables and herbs.

Saute onions and bell pepper in olive oil in large saucepan over low-medium heat, until tender. Add salt, pepper and garlic, cooking a few more minutes or until fragrant. Remove from heat and stir in kale, parsley and rice.

Once squash is done baking, place ¾ cup of the filling into each half, sprinkle with goat cheese and return to oven for 3-5 minutes. Remove, let cool slightly, and enjoy!

So pretty! And obviously delicious…

Fun fact: This squash was grown on a farm near Scotland, Ontario.  Intrigued, I Googled the town and discovered it’s near Brantford. Who knew I was just an hour or so away from Scotland? Wonder if they have haggis?

Responses

  1. Looks delicious and simple. I must try it!!

  2. I’m with Lori! Also, is that culinary parchment I see?? 😉

    • Sure is! Love that stuff.


Leave a Reply

Categories

