Posted by: Kennedy | September 12, 2011

Detox: Lessons from Week 1

I’ve survived the first seven days of my Back to School Detox. While it hasn’t been perfect, I’m doing my best and am feeling much healthier than I was a week ago. As this is my first official detox ever, I wasn’t quite sure what to expect. Here are a few discoveries I’ve made so far:

1. Detoxing is easy… if you plan all your meals, stock your kitchen properly and make cooking and meal prep a priority.

2. Dinner Club and detoxes don’t mix. (Confession: wine was consumed).

3. Training for a half-marathon and detoxes don’t mix (Read: I’m hungry, like, all the time).

4. There are TONS of gluten-free, dairy-free options out there… but sugar, on the other hand, is tougher to avoid.

Vegan cupcakes - amazing but, sadly, not sugar-free

5. Smoothies are a detoxing girl’s best friend.

6. There’s never a “good” time to plan a detox. There will always be an excuse to fall off – a friend’s birthday party, a holiday dinner, a Vegetarian Food Fair. My take on this? Be flexible, but sensible. For example, if you simply must indulge in a piece of chocolate cake (for the birthday girl’s sake, of course), load up on extra veggies and sip a green smoothie the next day. Balance, my friends.

That said, here are a few examples of yummylicious foods you CAN eat while on a detox:

Pumpkin Spice Smoothie (courtesy of @HealthyGinger):

3/4 cup almond milk
1/2 cup water
1/2 can unsweetened pure pumpkin
1 ripe banana
1 large handful spinach
1 Tbsp raw cacao nibs
1 Tbsp chia seeds
1 Tbsp maple syrup (substitutes i.e. honey, agave nectar would work as well)
1 tsp cinnamon
Few pinches nutmeg (I used pumpkin pie spice)
1/4 tsp vanilla extract

Blend all ingredients for 1 minute, then add 2-3 ice cubes and blend on ‘ice’ setting for another minute. Pour in a fancy glass and enjoy!

 

 

Zucchini pesto pasta & kale, carrot & cabbage salad (my lunch from this weekend’s Veggie Food Fair)


Flatbread pizza (courtesy of Pinch of Yum)


Ingredients:

1 gluten-free flatbread
1 cup shredded zucchini
1 teaspoon olive oil
1/2 cup chopped grape tomatoes
2 tablespoons goat cheese
3 leaves fresh basil, chopped

Directions:
Toast flatbread in the oven at 400 degrees.

Saute the zucchini in the olive oil on high heat. Season with salt and pepper. When zucchini is soft and slightly browned, remove from heat.

Spread the zucchini mixture on the toasted flatbread and top with tomatoes, cheese, and basil. Makes one delicious serving.

 

And finally, you can never go wrong with treats from the Farmer’s Market:

I’m probably the only one who brings her veggies home and promptly conducts a photo shoot with them in the kitchen. Yes, it’s true… blogging has made me a tad loony. I’m okay with it!

Responses

  1. I conduct veggie photo shoots alllllllll the time 🙂 good luck detoxing, doll!

  2. great post Kennedy…….glad you are back on track (mostly).
    I agree, the key is balance!!

  3. I planned to do a detox for over a year, and never got the change, looking how easy it sounds maybe I will give it a try!

  4. […] of went crazy for the pumpkin. I made pumpkin pecan cinnamon rolls. Pumpkin chocolate chip cookies. Pumpkin spice smoothies. I’m the first to admit, it got a little […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

