Posted by: Kennedy | September 5, 2011

Back-to-school Detox

On Wednesday, my life will return to regularly scheduled programming – going to classes, studying for tests, writing assignments, meal planning, grocery shopping, meeting-going, apartment-cleaning, etc. etc.

Believe it or not, I’m actually ready for it. I’ve had a relaxing six weeks away from school and city living, and it’s been lovely. But I’m starting to crave my routine.

Such a nerd.

As one might expect, going off-schedule involves both risk and reward. I was fortunate to have plenty of downtime to spend with family and friends, enjoying the great outdoors. These adventures often involved food and drinks…

A "bloomin' onion" - one of the many heart-attack inducing foods at the Kitchener RibFest

While I believe in balance when it comes to diet and lifestyle, I admit I was enticed to indulge in more ‘treats’ over the past month than I have all year. Dammit, mom!

Over the past few days, I’ve been feeling the effects of my less-than-ideal choices – I’m tired and grouchy with far less energy than usual. Blah. No fun.

So starting tomorrow, my Back To School Detox begins.

For the next three weeks, I will be avoiding:

–       Alcohol

–       Caffeine

–       Refined sugar

–       Dairy

–       Most wheat-containing foods (except oats – I can’t give up my morning oats)

–       Red meat

And I will be gorging on:

–       Greens

–       Fresh veggies and fruits

–       Whole grains

–       Nuts and seeds

–       Beans and legumes

–       Eggs

–       Fish

This is not an extreme cleanse. I’m not restricting cooked foods, or even animal foods for that matter. I just want to start the semester off on the right foot by eating healthy and feeling awesome.

The first thing on my agenda upon returning to the city tomorrow is a massive grocery store trip. Then, I’m making a big batch of this:

Kennedy’s Detox Dinner

(Warm Quinoa Salad with Black Beans, Sweet Potato & Zucchini)

Ingredients:

–       1 sweet potato, chopped

–       ½ onion, chopped

–       1 clove garlic, minced

–       1 zucchini, chopped

–       1 can black beans, rinsed and drained

–       1 cup quinoa, uncooked

–       2 tbsp freshly squeezed lemon juice

–       1 tsp dried basil

–       ½ tsp cumin

–       ½ tsp coriander

–       1 tbsp olive oil

–       Sea salt & pepper, to taste

Directions:

–       Bake sweet potato in olive oil, salt and pepper at 350F for 25-30 mins.

–       Rinse and cook quinoa on stovetop, as per directions.

–       Saute onions and garlic on olive oil for low-medium heat for 5 minutes.

–       Add zucchini, sauté another 3 minutes.

–       Add black beans and spices; simmer 10 minutes.

–       Remove from heat, mix in quinoa and sweet potato.

–       Add lemon juice, salt and pepper (to taste); mix well and serve warm.

Mmmm. I can almost feel the energy I’m going to have after I eat this.

Responses

  1. oh – the happy bloomin onion memories! i might try your detox dinner too – i have all the ingredients on hand! i’ll let you know how it goes!

    • Nice! Hope you like it – it makes a TON so you’ll have lots of leftovers.

  2. SORRY!!! But you gotta admit, it was fun while it lasted 🙂

  3. This recipe made my mouth water Kennedy! Sounds delicious. Can’t wait to try it.

    • I’m making it tonight – come on over!


Leave a Reply

Categories

