Posted by: Kennedy | September 1, 2011

My Racing Bucket List

Happy September!

Yes, I’m sad to see the end of summer approaching. It means no more sundresses. No more tomatoes picked fresh from the veggie garden. No more lazy days of reading or beach-sitting as I head back to school.

But there are two things I really love about the return of fall: Perfect running weather and the official arrival of race season!

Over the next six weeks, I’ll be running three races: the Toronto 5K on Sept. 17th, the Island Girl Half-Marathon Relay with my friend Lynne on Sept. 25th, and the Scotiabank Toronto Waterfront Half on Oct. 16th.

I’d better start hydrating now…

I love organizing my race season schedule – I’m kind of a nerd that way. It always gets me dreaming about the particularly awesome races I want to do someday… my racing bucket list.

Here they are, in no particular order. My top 5 dream races:

#1 – Disney Wine & Dine Half Marathon

What’s not to love about this race? It brings together three of my passions – running, wine and food. You also get Mickey, Minnie, and the gang, a finish line party at Epcot and a start time of 10 p.m. Way, way cool. I’ve never been to Disney World and I think a race would be the perfect excuse to go. I would also settle for the Disney Princess Half Marathon or, really, any race at Disney World.

#2 – Any race I can get into in New York City

I visited NYC for the first time last November with one of my BFFs. It truly is every bit as amazing as everyone hypes it up to be. Before I left I made a list of my “must-dos” while there, and of course, going for a run in Central Park was near the top. Alas, this plan never materialized on account of hangovers our very hectic schedule. So when a few girlfriends started toying with the idea of running the New York City Half – which takes place in the Park – I was all over it. We’re hoping to score spots in 2012.

#3 – Any race of the Rock ‘n’ Roll Marathon Series

I’ve read other bloggers’ recaps of several of these races, which are held in a number of major cities across the U.S. With lots of live bands en route and a headliner concert at the finish (one of this year’s bands was Everclear), these races sound unique and super fun. Cities topping my list include: Chicago, Seattle, Washington DC, and Las Vegas.

#4 – Niagara Falls International Marathon

I know I need to do this race at least once in my lifetime. Compared to other races on my bucket list, this one is super close to home. Plus it’s got a sweet route – you start in the U.S. and you finish in Canada. You literally run from one country to another. Along the way, there is beautiful scenery along the Niagara River Parkway and of course, there’s the awesome Horseshoe Falls to look forward to at the end.

#5 – Nike Women’s Marathon

It might take me years to get to this race, but I’m pretty sure it’ll be worth the wait. The former manager of my Running Room store ran it in 2010 and said it was the most incredible running experience she’s ever had. It’s held in San Francisco, and the last stretch of the race is along the Pacific Ocean. How badass is that?!  Oh yeah, and all finishers receive a Tiffany & Co. necklace as their ‘medal.’ The event is so immensely popular that the only way to participate is to win a spot in the lottery draw. I certainly don’t have the best luck when it comes to lottery winnings, but really, who does? When the time comes, I’ll just close my eyes, cross my fingers and say a little prayer to the running gods.

Any other “must-run” races out there for me to add to the list? 

Responses

  1. I vote for the Seattle one – I know a great place for you to stay – it’s really cheap and the food and wine are great! And there is an endless trail right next door to practice on.

    • I was hoping you’d say that… Seattle it is!

  2. Just added the Niagara Falls race to my own bucket list!

    • Awesome!

  3. The Detroit Free Press Marathon! You start in downtown Detroit (which is actually really nice!), run across the Ambassador bridge into Windsor, run down the riverside and then back through the Windsor-Detroit tunnel (the only marathon with an underwater mile!!!!) and back into Detroit. It’s amazing to run across the bridge into Canada as the sun is rising and the sound of everyone’s feet in the tunnel almost sounds like it’s raining. Great race!

    • Good one! A friend of mine has actually done that race a few times and said it was awesome – thanks for reminding me! The list is quickly expanding…


Leave a Reply

Categories

