Posted by: Kennedy | August 11, 2011

Muffins: cupcakes in disguise?

There’s something about having a looming deadline that gives me an insane craving for my comfort foods… more specifically: an insane craving for baked goods.

Does that happen to anyone else?

A few weeks ago, when I was waist-deep in diet diaries and ‘client’ health information, I awoke one morning with a massive hankering for muffins.

Maybe it was all the time spent thinking and talking about food. Maybe it was a way of distracting myself from the fact I had to write two 30-page papers in a week.

Regardless, I browsed some cookbooks and blogs in search of the perfect recipe, and ended up combining parts of several to create my own:

Blueberry-licious Flax Muffins.

I’ve really taken to baking muffins lately. They are my favourite of all the baked goods, but so many varieties in cafes and restaurants are essentially cupcakes in disguise. I find the only way I can truly enjoy them (and not feel heavy and lethargic afterwards) is to make them myself. Plus they make my apartment smell like a bakery. 

These muffins contain no refined sugar and no dairy. They taste awesome. And they are LOADED with fresh (in season!) blueberries. Win.

Here’s what you need:

1 cup rolled oats

1 cup almond milk

1 cup whole-wheat flour

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp salt

1 egg

1/3 cup unsweetened applesauce

2/3 cup maple syrup

2 cups blueberries, washed and dried

1 Tbsp flaxseeds

 

And here’s how you make them:

Preheat the oven to 350 F. Line a muffin tin with paper liners.

In a small bowl, combine the oats and almond milk and let the mixture stand for 5 minutes. In a medium bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt; mix with a fork to blend and set aside.

In a large bowl, mix egg, applesauce, and maple syrup.

Blend the oat-almond milk mixture into the egg mixture, then stir in the flour mixture until just combined.

Fold in the blueberries. Fill muffin cups 3⁄4 full and top with a sprinkle of ground flaxseed.

Bake 20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the centre comes out clean. And you’re done!

The recipe makes 12 muffins – and though I shared some with friends, I still ended up throwing three or four away. I know… it pained me, but they started getting sticky and kind of gross-tasting after a few days. All the more reason to indulge when they are fresh! 

Responses

  1. wow, those look yummy. A suggestion, next time freeze some of them while they are fresh, so you can enjoy them ALL!! or bring some home and we will help you eat them 🙂 ~mom~

  2. These look great! I feel like making them right now, except we just moved into this apartment and I don’t have a muffin tray yet! damn!


Leave a Reply

Categories

