Posted by: Kennedy | August 9, 2011

Debut of the Green Monster

Hey there August, where’d you come from?

Can’t believe I’ve already been off school for over a week! Time flies when you’re having fun not doing or thinking about work… So far, my vacation has looked something like this:

Mom's homemade pizza!

Cousins at the cottage 🙂

Strawberry chia gelato

Aside from spending lots of quality time with the fam, one of the best things about being at my parents’ house is having unlimited access to my mom’s kitchen – the appliances and extra counter space make it so much easier to experiment with new recipes.

Here’s a random fact about me that you may not know: I never make smoothies. I know… I’m a student of holistic nutrition. They rave about green drinks at my school. I’m also a runner. What better way for me to refuel from a run than to throw a bunch of protein in a blender and drink it down? I know.

It’s totally weird – and slightly inexcusable – that I’ve not yet jumped on the green smoothie bandwagon. The truth? My blender sucks. But my mother happens to own a fine blender that can make all kinds of yummy treats, including…. The Green Monster.

I decided this morning while out for my run around town that it was time to give this drink a go. I first heard about the Green Monster over at Oh She Glows. It’s a really healthy smoothie filled with fruit and lots of greens, which of course is what gave the drink its namesake. Angela comes up with all kinds of creative variations, which she posts on her blog regularly. But for today, I kept it simple.

In my smoothie:

1 Tbsp ground flax

2 cups spinach

1 banana

½ cup blueberries

1 ¼ cups milk

Ice

I tossed all of the ingredients (in the above order) into the blender, added the ice once I’d already blended everything for a minute or so, then mixed it on the ‘ice’ setting for another minute.

Then I poured it in a pretty glass and sipped away until it was gone. So refreshing! It was the perfect replacement for my morning coffee – another bonus, as I’m starting to mentally and physically prepare myself for my caffeine detox…

I feel a Green Monster kick coming on…

Responses

  1. Haha that’s too funny – I’ve been drinking green monsters almost everyday for breakfast for a few months and my friends and co-workers get so grossed out by them because they are green and have spinach. But so yummy!

    • Yeah, the appearance weirded out my sister and cousins too… I didn’t tell them what was in it until they had a taste, and liked it! Ha.

  2. Yummy. I love that you try new things then share. I am going to try this.
    Cheers.


Leave a Reply

Categories

