Posted by: Kennedy | July 29, 2011

Summer time and the cookin’s easy

Today is a happy day – I am officially on summer vacay!

That’s right, friends, six straight weeks free of classes, tests, assignments, and case studies lie ahead. Weeeeeeee!

Before I kick back into holiday mode, I have one more IHN-related matter to discuss.

As promised… it’s Part 2 of my IHN cooking class! And I wasn’t sure if it would be possible, but I think it was even tastier than Part 1.

We started the day off with a quiz on grains… but it was more like arts & crafts:

(I aced it, just in case you can’t make out the mark at the bottom…)

Then, we got down to business. On the dinner & dessert menu for the day:

Sunflower seed pate paired with apple slices:

Celery root salad with Oriental dressing:

 

Millet & cauliflower mash with “Groovy gravy” – These are meant to resemble mashed potatoes, but let me tell you, they are EVEN BETTER. The gravy really makes the dish. To make it, all you do is combine 1 Tbsp miso paste, 2 Tbsp tahini and ½ cup of freshly squeezed OJ.

Yellow mung dahl soup, served as a very satisfying first course:

Plate full of yum...

Gluten-free peanut butter cookies

Cocoa truffles – I love desserts that sound fancy but are impossibly simple. This recipe included just four ingredients: walnuts, dates, cocoa powder and coconut oil.

Treats + tea = bliss

Chia strawberry gelato: Another sweet, simple recipe: 2 Tbsp white chia seeds, ½ cup water (to soak chia seeds in for 15 minutes), 2 cups strawberries, ¼ cup maple syrup and ¼ cup coconut oil, mixed in the blender, thrown in Dixie cups and frozen.

Puffed amaranth bars:

Did you know you could ‘pop’ amaranth on the stovetop, a la Jiffy Pop? I sure didn’t. It was way cool.

I know it’s cruel of me to post photos, ramble on about how amazing everything was and then not include all of the recipes… I’ll be honest, I’m just lazy and don’t want to type out all the directions. Plus, it would make this post about 80,000 words long.

So here’s what I’m offering – if you are interested in making any of these recipes, leave me a comment below or e-mail me at kennedy.baker@gmail.com and I will gladly send them on.

I’m kind of sad there are no more cooking classes to look forward to. When I cook, I either stick to what I know or take a shot in the dark and hope I get it right. It was nice to have a knowledgeable source in the kitchen to show me the proper techniques for cooking, blending, soaking, etc. and to introduce me to new ingredients (kelp powder, anyone?).

You can bet I’ll be referring to my IHN cookbook for some kitchen inspiration in the future. Maybe I’ll use some of my downtime in August to perfect a holistic recipe.. or six…

Responses

  1. feel free to practise any recipes while you are home for holidays in Clinton!!!
    I’ll even buy the ingredients and be your assistant 🙂
    Enjoy your holiday Kennedy, you certainly deserve it!!

  2. This all looks so great – I seriously can’t choose what intrigues me the most!! Popping amaranth? Crazy!!

    Enjoy your summer vacay girl!

    • I know, it was quite fun! And the best part is, once puffed, you can make all kinds of treats. Would you like the directions?

  3. These look awesome! I love all the gluten free options. I wish you could come cook for me!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

