Posted by: Kennedy | July 5, 2011

Here we go again

So even though it feels like it was just yesterday, it’s been almost two months since my last race – the Goodlife Toronto Half Marathon.

 

Since then, I’ve been resting, and going for short runs when the mood strikes – about 1-2 times per week on average.

But now, it’s time to kiss “maintenance mode” goodbye once again and start training for the Scotiabank Toronto Waterfront Half, the setting of my 21.1K debut last fall.

Ah, summer training. Time to sweat my face off again.

Pretty sure I vowed I would never train through the hot weather again… and yet, here I am, looking down the barrel of another summer spent in search of water fountains, Body Glide and extremely sweat-proof sunscreen.

It’s crazy, but I’m looking forward to it.

I miss the long run. Nothing compares to it. On Friday I tested the waters to see how my legs would do with a longer distance – I managed to take them over 10K through the Belt Line and it was pretty great. And very, very sweaty. Now I remember why we always headed out at 8:30 a.m. on Sunday mornings – it’s far too hot by 10.

But enough complaining about the heat. Summer runs are so beautiful:

And the best part of training through the summer? Post-run treats like this:

 

Banana soft serve with fresh Ontario strawberries and homemade chocolate crunch granola, recipe courtesy of Oh She Glows.

There’s NO ice cream in there. Shocker, right?

Not that I have anything against the odd ice cream cone. Especially when it’s made fresh in-house, daily (holla, Summer’s in Yorkville!)

 

So, here we go… another hot, sweaty, delicious summer lies ahead. 

Leave a Reply

Categories

