Posted by: Kennedy | June 26, 2011

Muffins are a student’s best friend

Over the past six months, I’ve noticed some interesting patterns emerging in my life. I’m a student, so it’s no surprise that these patterns are basically mechanisms to help me deal with copious amounts of stress.

Ah, the joys of higher education.

One particularly note-worthy pattern? My new tendency to use cooking and baking as forms of procrastination.

For example…

On Thursday, I wrote a final exam in Anatomy & Physiology. It was cumulative. I was therefore responsible for knowing over 100 hours worth of class material and details about 14 different body systems.

Fun times.

Needless to say, I was a ball of stress all week. And how did I choose to handle it? By studying diligently for hours on end? Please.

I baked. Naturally.

I had the best of intentions when I got home from school on Tuesday. I did! I was going to finish all of my study notes, review them a bit, get a good night’s sleep, and take the pressure off myself for the night before the exam.

Right. Good one Kennedy…

Instead, I perused my go-to blogs, bookmarked a few recipes, baked muffins, cooked dinner, and went for a 5k run. “Studying” didn’t begin until 10 p.m.

But as I see it, I nourished my body with healthy food that gave me so much energy that I had to release some of it by running, which helped me relieve stress and cleared my head so I could focus on studying. Yes?

Well, maybe not. But I discovered a fantastic new muffin recipe and, in my mind, that makes everything worth it.

Wet ingredients... admittedly not looking too appetizing...

I’m convinced these muffins even helped me study – they were a motivation tool. I’d say to myself: Self, you can have a muffin when you’re able to describe all of the events involved in a muscle contraction.

Or maybe it was all the brain-boosting healthy fats in the walnuts.

Regardless, something in them worked, because I totally kicked that exam’s ass.

Lemon Zucchini “Study Success” Muffins

Ingredients:

Dry:

1 ½ cups whole wheat flour

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup chopped walnuts

2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp nutmeg

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

Wet:

1 cup unsweetened applesauce

1 cup shredded zucchini

¼ cup milk (I used almond milk)

2 Tbsp lemon juice

2 tsp lemon zest

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 350.

In two separate bowls, mix dry, then wet, and then combine, adding wet to dry and stirring gently until fully mixed. Spoon the mixture into a non-stick or sprayed muffin pan – you’ll get 10-12 muffins, depending on how big you want them to be. Bake them for 20-25 minutes.

Simple, healthy…. and they taste amazing. Next time there’s a big test looming, I’m definitely making these.

Responses

  1. Glad you enjoyed the muffins! 🙂 Next time would you mind just linking to my recipe vs. reposting it? Thanks!

    • No prob Anne, thanks again for the recipe!

  2. next time i need to learn a tricky piano song, i will be eating those muffins first, before i even play a note! Thanks for the brain tip 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

