Posted by: Kennedy | May 30, 2011

Nutritionista potluck

I have a riddle for you:

What do you get when you put seven future nutritionists in a kitchen?

Answer: One AMAZING potluck.

A few schoolmates and I gathered together last Thursday evening to spend some much-needed quality time outside of the classroom.

Of course, food had to be involved. And naturally, that food would be homemade, healthy and satisfying.

I must say our group has got some mad culinary skills.

We made a lot of appetizer-type foods, but they were packed with protein and fibre so no one left hungry. In fact, by the end of the night I felt like someone needed to roll me home!

Check out this spread:

Olive dip by Najette (not pictured – I knew I missed something!)

Gluten-free pasta salad with chickpeas, spinach & mushrooms by Jordana

 

Veggie black bean dip by yours truly

 

Greens with strawberries, cucumbers, walnuts, sesame seeds and a delicious homemade sesame oil/balsamic dressing by Shelby

 

Another awesome salad with hard-boiled eggs, baby potatoes, green beans, and other veggie goodness by Kate

 

And dessert was homemade gluten-free, vegan donuts – both chocolate and vanilla – courtesy of our gracious hostess, Lani.

They were SO good I could have polished off the tray. We kept cutting the leftovers into quarters and sharing… I quite easily could have had three donuts in total.

Everything was amazing. Ladies, I think this has to become a regularly scheduled event. Same time next month?

Responses

  1. Ugh! Your section seems so much more chumy than mine. I’m jealous of your pot luck.

    • You should join next time!


Leave a Reply

Categories

