Posted by: Kennedy | May 28, 2011

Return of the farmer’s market

My favourite summer weekend ritual is back: the Saturday morning trip to the local farmer’s market. Happy dance time!

I actually love getting up early on the weekends. Even if I don’t have a long run planned, I like to start my weekend off right with a productive Saturday morning. Today, I knew that just had to include a visit to the Wychwood Barns at The Stop Community Food Centre – my neighbourhood farmer’s market.

 

I scored some great stuff today:

Eggs – not certified organic, but the farmer I chatted with assured me he doesn’t use pesticides, chemicals or genetically modified seed.

 

Ontario asparagus – feels so awesome to buy stuff that’s in season!

 

Sunflower sprouts & mixed sprouted beans & lentils

 

Nigari tofu – made with organic, non-GMO soybean. I recognized the lady selling it, as she also has a kiosk at the St. Lawrence Market. When it comes to tofu, I’m really picky about the texture. This stuff is great.

Olive loaf from St. John’s Bakery – possibly THE best bread on the planet.

I debated grabbing a brownie from one of the baked goods vendors, but opted instead to swing by a cute-looking bakery I passed on the way to Wychwood: Leah’s.

She had all kinds of yumminess in there – cookies, cupcakes, pastries, muffins. I chose an almond-chocolate chunk biscotti, which I enjoyed over a latte at Starbucks while I caught up on some reading for my Psychology of Disease class.

Home by 10:30 a.m. And now, I’m enjoying an amazing, fresh, local sandwich of farmer’s market fare:

Pretty lovely start to the weekend if you ask me.

Responses

  1. yes, it is a lovely way to start off the weekend!!!!
    What a yummy looking sandwich. I agree with you, buying fresh is the way to go whenever possible. luv ~mom~

  2. Looks amazing. Marc and I have been scouting our own local area and have found some great fresh food from eggs and bread to crab right off the boats. Enjoy your gorgeous fresh food!


Leave a Reply

Categories

