Posted by: Kennedy | May 14, 2011

Enticing Enchiladas

The best part of preparing for a big race? Fuelling up!

That’s why this week was perfect timing for a Dinner Club night. I hosted Ms. Sampson at my place on Thursday evening for our latest recipe attempt.

Though the LCBO Food & Drink book just hit the stores, nothing was screaming “make me!” so instead I searched my trusted blogroll. Sure enough, I found a Dinner Club treasure: Angela’s vegan enchiladas with cilantro-avocado cream sauce. Oh yes.

Neither Samps nor myself had ever made enchiladas before. I’ve wanted to try them for a long time, and this seemed the perfect opportunity.

Normally, I’d think any Mexican dish without cheese would be downright insane. But I have to say that I did not miss it at ALL – in fact, both of us swore we tasted a cheesy flavour in there somewhere. We chalked it up to the creamy avocado topping.

We started out by chopping up a bunch of veggies and throwing them in a pan with olive oil on low-medium heat to simmer. For exact timing/order of cooking, check out Angela’s recipe.

1 red onion, chopped

1 bell pepper, chopped

1 cup cooked sweet potato

2 cloves garlic, minced

2 cups spinach, chopped

1 can black beans, drained and rinsed

 

Then, we added:

1 can enchilada sauce

1.5 tsp ground cumin

2 tbsp fresh lime juice

½ tsp sea salt

½ tsp garlic powder

1 tsp chili powder

After all the spices were fully blended, we scooped out about 1½ cups of the mixture onto the bottom of a 9 ½ x 13-inch baking dish, spreading it into a thin layer.

Then, we took four tortillas (large, whole wheat flour) and placed approx. ¾ cup of the mixture into the centre, folding the ends in over top to make a wrap. Then we placed each tortilla, fold-side down, in the baking dish. We topped the tortillas with the remaining mixture.

We baked the tortillas at 350F for 18 minutes. While we waited, we made the cream sauce:

1 and ¼ cup avocado flesh (equals a little more than one avocado)

2 tbsp water

2-3 tbsp fresh lime juice

1 cup cilantro

1 tsp sea salt

½ tsp garlic powder

¾ tsp ground cumin

Black pepper, to taste

Red pepper flakes, to taste

To make the sauce, we pureed the avocado and water together in a food processor until creamy. Then we added the rest of the ingredients and blended until it was smooth.

Once the tortillas were finished baking, we poured the sauce over top and garnished with chopped green onion and a little extra cilantro.

I have to say, my apartment smelled pretty amazing by this point.

The tortillas were massive – one will definitely leave you feeling satisfied. And they tasted heavenly. I’ve been eating the leftovers every day since and I’m not sick of them yet. That says something!

Vegan enchiladas. Who knew?

We also had a lovely wine to pair them with – a sauvignon blanc from New Zealand. The flavours went really nicely together. (Note/disclaimer: I have not had a sip of alcohol since Thursday’s dinner club. I do not advocate drinking as part of an effective pre-race prep plan!)

What a healthy, satisfying way to carb-load. But for dinner tonight, I’m stepping it up a notch – it’s gonna be pasta all the way! 

Responses

  1. Wow, those look REALLY good!!! and HEALTHY!!
    Great combo. you can make them for me some time!
    ~mom~

  2. Looks delicious! Will definitely have to try. Wish I could have been there with you gals!

    I’m thinking of you this morning :). Wish I could be there!


Leave a Reply

Categories

