Posted by: Kennedy | March 29, 2011

It’s the end of an era… and an anniversary!

Friends, it’s a bittersweet kind of day.

But before I get into all that…

This just in: I have located my Mojo!

It was found on Saturday morning while I ran (on dry sidewalks!) over 12k in the sunshine. I felt strong and endorphin-y. And not even that cold…

I also kicked off the Pipes Challenge last night – with Week 1, Day 1 of the hundred push-ups program. Happily, it wasn’t that painful – it only took about five minutes and I didn’t feel like collapsing until the last set, where you are supposed to do as many push-ups as possible in good form (at least 5 at my level). I managed 10, for a total of 30 push-ups overall. Yay me!

Now… back to the bittersweet stuff.

I said “Au revoir” to a very dear friend last night. You might recognize her from such posts as Ladies Who Lobster or Tastes of India or basically any post about Cooking Club. You may also remember her from such race recaps as the Egg Nog Jog 10k or the Scotiabank Toronto Waterfront Half Marathon… come to think of it, she makes an appearance in all of my race recaps.

Yes, last night I bid farewell to Ms. Joanna King – my colleague-turned-friend, fellow wine and nacho connoisseur, running buddy and Cooking Club co-founder.

This weekend, Jo and her boyfriend are packing their bags, loading up the car and heading north to scenic Newfoundland, where they will build a home (themselves!) on an absolutely gorgeous property in Comfort Cove – just steps from the water. She’s even going to blog about their building experiences – I’ll post the link here soon.

I couldn’t be more excited for her – especially when we discuss my visit to the finished product in 2012! – but at the same time, I sure am sad to see her go.

Naturally, we planned our last outing around our two shared loves. We’d head out for a quick run, then refuel at a beloved restaurant. When the day arrived and we realized this was a little too time-consuming for someone who is packing up her life and leaving the city in four days, we of course dropped the run and headed to Fresh for a lovely, healthy dinner.

Our “last meal”:

My parting gift to Jo – a few highlights from our adventures together (from top to bottom – posing with our half marathon medals, our amazing lobster feast, and an action shot from our pasta-making night):

Thanks for the memories, Jojo!

Now, this certainly won’t be the end of our healthy shenanigans. There’s already buzz about a 2012 trip to NYC for the half marathon. And we won’t let a little thing like living in different provinces get in the way of our cooking nights. It’ll be like we’re in the same kitchen, thanks to the wonders of Skype!

On another note: today is a bit of a special day for me. One year ago today, I pressed ‘publish’ on my very first post at Running After Balance. Hard to believe!

In honour of my anniversary, I’ll soon be making a few changes to the blog – nothing major, just some upkeep and what not. Don’t get too excited!

Blogging really has changed my life. I’ve made some new friends (both online and in real life), discovered new foods and recipes, navigated my way through all kinds of running mishaps, and, most importantly, I’ve learned so much about myself and what it means to live a balanced life. Plus, blogging helped give me the courage and motivation to leave my job and follow my heart back to school. For that alone, it’s been more than worth it.

I always say that I would blog even if no one read – and really, not too many people do! But I have to say that I truly appreciate every single visit from someone who isn’t my mom (just kidding mom, I love that you read and comment ever so faithfully!)…

So whether you’ve commented on a post, ‘liked’ a Facebook link, retweeted on Twitter, or showed your support the old-fashioned way – in live conversation – I want to say THANK YOU! You’re all wonderful. I’ve loved sharing my experiences with you and hearing about yours.

Here’s to another year of running mishaps and kitchen experiments. And a lot of studying.

Responses

  1. Its the time of year, it does something to people… Winter is long in Canada!

  2. yes, i will keep on commenting!! i’m a “mom”, it’s my job. I have to comment on everything you kids do at all times 🙂

  3. 🙂 your blog made me smile from ear to ear thinking of all the awesome things we’ve done together — and will continue to do together. Let the planning begin for our trip to NYC for the 1/2 marathon and your trip to NL next summer!

    It’s been a blast mon amie. Je Taime!

    • We’ve definitely had a lot of fun! xo And thanks for sharing the blog link, I’ll be subscribing asap!


Leave a Reply

Categories

