Posted by: Kennedy | February 11, 2011

Day 4: Leftovers to the rescue

I picked the perfect week to do this challenge.

This week has been a bit of an anomaly – up until tonight, I’ve had every night to myself. Plenty of time to plan, prepare and eat without distraction or non-vegan temptations. I know that’s not normally the case in my life.

Take tonight, for instance. It was the first night of my second half-marathon clinic with the Running Room. That’s right, friends, I’m giving 21.1 km another go – training for the Goodlife Toronto Half on May 15, 2011.

For those who followed along when I was training for my first half back in the summer, you’ll recall that clinic nights are kind of long. And the weekday runs always take place around dinner time. Tonight, I left my house at 5:45 and didn’t get home until 8. And having just ran (a very chilly – an blissfully short – 3k, but still..), I was HUNGRAY.

My usual go-to dinner after a workout is a veggie omelet with toast. It’s fast, easy, and yummy, with an ideal protein to carb ratio.

But this week, there are no eggs in my refrigerator.

Fortunately, my leftovers came to the rescue!

Look familiar?

I polished off the last of my “Bittersweet Casserole” – a sweet potato, kale, quinoa, onion mixture. It was tasting a little bland tonight for some reason so I added pepper and squeezed some lemon juice over top. Mmm mmmmmm.

What I’m discovering this week is that for vegans, even more so than for the rest of us, preparation is key. Surely there are plenty of quick and easy vegan meal options, but we omnivores certainly have more at our disposal.

And that’s just at home! I haven’t had to eat a meal out yet, but that is obviously much more challenging for a vegan. I’ve been craving sushi this week (probably not related to the challenge; I crave it pretty much every week), and I may go for it tomorrow. I’ll just have to explicitly ask my server if there is any mayo/cream cheese in the rolls. And if so… no dice!

Responses

  1. you are doing great! Keep it up 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

