Posted by: Kennedy | February 10, 2011

Day 3: Craving cheese, but eating tabouleh

I can’t believe I’m almost at the half-way point of the vegan challenge! Thank you to everyone who has commented, tweeted or e-mailed – your support means so much! And even better, I love hearing that friends are finding inspiration to do their own vegan or vegetarian experiments. If I can do it, you definitely can too!

That said, I do think I spoke too soon yesterday. Of course. I get a little over-confident and, right on schedule, my body’s like: “Hey, not so fast. Feed me cheese.”

Yes, a few cravings crept up this afternoon. Not even cravings, really. I’d call them hankerings. Mostly for cheese, but also for sweet baked goods. I should have known to expect something like this and have a plan in place – like a recipe for vegan muffins. The good news is there’s still time. Anyone want to throw me a suggestion? Perhaps in the pumpkin spice persuasion?

Once again, breakfast was oats:

Maybe I’ll stop posting photos of breakfast – kind of embarrassing that I never, ever mix it up, not even the toppings. I’m so habitual; I even have a specific order for everything. First, oats, then raisins, then sunflower seeds, then chia seeds, then dates, then blueberries, and finally, almond milk.

That’s weird, isn’t it?

Lunch was another easy combination of salad and leftover dinner:

Loved getting to have another chickpea burger. Though this one didn’t have any hummus on it, the avocado I added to the salad gave a similar texture and tasted great.

I’d hoped to grab one of the vegan bars they sell at school (I’m already addicted), but they were all gone! I guess I’m not the only one who’s discovered them. I chose a seed bar in the other brand they offer – it didn’t hold a candle to my M Bar.

Also – full disclosure – this bar had honey in it. Not vegan, depending on who you talk to. But while I was contemplating, my vegan school-friend assured me that some vegans do choose to eat honey. I thought, if they can, so can I. But really, this bar wasn’t worth it.

By the time I got home from school, I was hungry again and needed a pre-run snack. I went for another bar (this one IS vegan, and homemade!). No-bake peanut butter energy bars from fANNEtastic food. It hit the spot.

My dinner was supposed to a red quinoa and black bean vegetable salad – yet another Oh She Glows recipe – but after two separate attempts to locate red quinoa at two different grocery stores, I decided to substitute for couscous.

What I ended up creating was a couscous salad that resembled a tabouleh – a really delicious one.

Ingredients (salad):

1 cup couscous

1 can black beans, rinsed and drained

1 red pepper, chopped

2 green onions, chopped

1/4 cup fresh cilantro, finely chopped

1/2 large avocado, chopped into 1-inch pieces

Ingredients (dressing):

Juice from two limes

1/4 cup cilantro, finely chopped

1/2 tsp freshly ground black pepper

1/2 tsp sea salt

1/2 tsp ground cumin

1 garlic clove, minced

1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil

Once couscous is cooked, mix in vegetables and black beans, add dressing and stir well until everything is evenly mixed. Serve at room temperature.

 

I gobbled up every bite of this generous serving.

Can you guess what I’m having for lunch tomorrow?

Responses

  1. Hey kid, hang in there……you are half way there!!
    I’m wondering if you have noticed any changes in the way you feel on this diet?

  2. I am having MAJOR cheese cravings as well! Sigh!


Leave a Reply

Categories

