Posted by: Kennedy | February 9, 2011

Day 2: A no-meat, no-cheese burger

Hope I’m not jinxing myself by saying this, but so far I am cruising through this challenge.

Breakfast was my usual bowl of rolled oats in almond milk, with raisins, dates, sunflower seeds, chia seeds and blueberries. I’ve been ‘accidentally’ eating a vegan breakfast almost every morning for months – so no problems there.

After getting an amazing sleep last night, I didn’t crave caffeine nearly as much and had no issues avoiding coffee all day.

I also didn’t have to stress about what to make for lunch – just dumped the leftovers from last night’s dinner over some spinach and tomatoes. Wasn’t sure how sweet potatoes would taste cold… but it was surprisingly great!

Almonds and an apple got me through the rest of the day, then it was time to get dinner ready.

I had high expectations for these Curry Chickpea Burgers from Oh She Glowsand I was not disappointed.

Ingredients:

1.5 cups cooked chickpeas

1/2 cup regular oats

10 baby carrots

1 tbsp coconut oil, melted

1.5 tsp curry powder

1/2 tsp paprika

1/4 tsp turmeric

1/4-1/2 tsp sea salt, to taste

1/4 tsp freshly ground black pepper

1 tsp parsley flakes (optional)

3 tbsp sunflower seeds

1/4 cup pumpkin seeds

First – throw oats, carrots and all of the spices into a food processor and mix.

Next, add coconut oil and chickpeas, 1/2 cup at a time, until everything is thoroughly mixed.

Finally, wet your hands and roll the mixture into patties (I made five, of varying sizes). Place them on a baking sheet covered with parchment paper and bake at 375 degrees for 40 minutes (flip them after 20).

I topped two patties with roasted garlic hummus (amazing combo!) and made Brussels sprouts as a side – without butter. That might be a first for me. But I swear I barely noticed a difference… the sea salt probably helped.

I also had a spinach salad while waiting for the patties to bake – I was soooo hungry and the smells of those savory spices heating my kitchen sure didn’t help suppress my appetite.

Who knew I could love a burger without meat or cheese?! I will most definitely be adding these to my recipe rotation.

Hope all the other 7-day vegans out there are doing great too! If you’re doing the challenge and you haven’t had success with your recipes yet, I highly recommend giving these a try. Remember: hummus is your friend.

 

Responses

  1. Another excellent post. I am sooooo going to make those burgers.
    Thanks Kennedy.

    • Yah! You’ll love them. This week is quite fun so far!

  2. Hi Kennedy…….i was wondering how you were doing. Looks like you are doing great. Can you make those burgers for me sometime when you are home?
    they look delicious!

    • Of course! Just gather up all the ingredients – I’ll happily make these again.

  3. Hey Kennedy,
    These dishes look great. I just ate breakfast and looking at these pictures is making me hungry again! Incidentally, I’m looking to eat less meat (maybe 2 – 3 days a week) so this is very inspiring. Keep in touch and I swear we’ll have the girls together at my place sometime in the end of March.
    xoxo
    y.

    • A few days a week is definitely doable. And yes, I’m definitely in for a March visit! Miss you!

  4. So impressed with you..you go girl! Those burgers look delish! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

