Posted by: Kennedy | February 2, 2011

Let’s do lunch

Today I want to talk about lunch.


Lunch doesn’t get much play on my blog. That’s because I’m rarely home during the day with the luxury of time to experiment with new recipes, capture them on camera and recount the whole experience for you here.

Most of you are surely in the same boat – busy rushing off to school or work in the mornings with barely enough time to eat breakfast, let alone prepare an elaborate lunch.

I hear you.

But if you’re like me, you get tired of packing the exact. same. sandwich. Day after day. Or perhaps you tend to buy your lunch. Imagine the wonders you could afford if only you didn’t waste your hard-earned cash on overpriced salads you could make at home for one-tenth the cost?

If your office has a fully equipped kitchen, you’re set. The world is your oyster. You can bring in leftovers, frozen homemade soups and stews, salads, fruit and yogurt, veggies and hummus, you name it. You don’t even have to make something before work – just throw things from the fridge into your bag and make something on your lunch break.

I used to have that luxury. I never had to worry about lunch boredom. My only concern was avoiding the noon-hour rush to use the microwave.

Ahh, the microwave. I know it essentially makes food ‘dead’ and disrupts our body’s electromagnetic fields, but it sure did make my life easier.

There is no microwave at school. This has forced me to become a little more creative with my lunch-packing, which now requires more thought than simply throwing a container of leftovers into my lunch bag.

But more thought doesn’t have to equal more time, as I’ve happily discovered. It never takes me more than five minutes to pack my lunch and snacks.

Since I started school almost four weeks ago, I’ve only bought my lunch once – I just had to try the homemade vegan soup they sell daily. Mmm soup…

And while there has been some menu duplication – I’m no Lucy WavermanI genuinely look forward to eating lunch every single day. And that’s the goal, right?

A few examples:

“Everything but the kitchen sink” salad


Anything you have on hand – chop it up and throw ‘er into the mix. My salads always include most of the following:

–       Baby spinach, cucumber, grape tomatoes, bell pepper, red onion, avocado, black beans/chickpeas/hard-boiled egg, nuts/seeds (pumpkin, sunflower, walnuts), dried fruit (cranberries, raisins), balsamic vinaigrette

When you’re having salad as your main meal, think protein, protein, protein – chicken, eggs, beans, nuts and seeds will keep you feeling satisfied for hours. Promise.

“Wrapped up leftovers”

I’ve used this trick several times. Rather than letting leftover rice and beans, quinoa mixtures and stir-fries rot away in the fridge, I just dump them onto a tortilla with hummus, add veggies for some extra nutritional punch and roll it up tight. So easy!

Cheesy Avocado Tuna Chickpea Salad

Inspired by fANNEtastic food, this combo is absolutely ah-mazing! It’s good over a bed of greens or thrown into a wrap with some spinach.

Just mix these ingredients together in a bowl:

–       1 can chunk light tuna

–       2 wedges Laughing Cow light swiss cheese

–       ½ small, very ripe avocado

–       1 green onion, chopped

–       1 cup chickpeas

–       Pepper to taste

Makes two servings (keeps well in fridge to use for not one, but two lunches!)

I’m on the lookout for more lunch suggestions so if you’ve got a good one, send it my wayWhat are your favourite ‘go-to’ lunches? Are you a brown bagger or a takeout-er?

Responses

  1. Great photo of lunch. Lunch makes me smile too.

    Question: What’s with the one big chunk of tomato just taking up the whole thing? Whatever happened to more and smaller tomato spread out across the tasty snack?

    • Hahaha… you don’t recognize that photo? You took it – in Switzerland. And you’ll recall that I did not make that pita with the enormous random tomato slice.


Leave a Reply

Categories

