Posted by: Kennedy | January 17, 2011

Scenes from a three-day weekend

A pretty fantastic perk of going to school at IHN is that every weekend is a long weekend – we have Fridays off. Can I get a hells yeah?

I took full advantage of this bonus day by showing my school friend Najette a little bit of what this city has to offer (she just moved here from Michigan).

Now, where would I take someone who is new to the city and loves fresh, healthy food?

There’s no question – St. Lawrence Market. I’m sure this doesn’t shock any of you regular readers. I can’t get enough of that place.

We strolled around the market as I pointed out all my favourite spots. We had dinner plans so unfortunately we didn’t eat anywhere, but we did stop at Freshly Squeezed for a snack. I had a carrot, apple, ginger juice – mm mmmm.

A short subway trip later, we arrived in Yorkville, where we walked around the neighbourhood until we couldn’t take the cold any longer and headed inside for some eats.

We went to Rawlicious, a raw-food restaurant I’ve heard great things about but never got around to trying. One of our other classmates, Michelle, works there and suggested we try it out. She was actually working there Friday night and was our lovely and very informed server.

Everything sounded so delicious, it was hard to choose what to get! I ended up going for the pad thai, while Najette ordered the special of the day: corn tacos.

Both were delicious, but I had a few bites of Najette’s taco – and I could not get over how amazing they were! Wow.

We were feeling full after that but just had to sample a dessert.

We shared the brownie – a date/walnut/cocao mixture topped with a thick, sweet icing made from coconut butter and a few other ingredients Michelle mentioned but I can’t recall. All you really need to know is that it was awesome. I’ll definitely be going back to Rawlicious in the future.

Feeling healthy and satisfied, we headed down the street to Hemingway’s for a few glasses of wine. A lovely Friday with a lovely new friend!

Saturday was a different story. I slept late and felt nauseous all day. I managed a trip to the grocery store. Then I came home and literally sat on my couch for the rest of the day. It sucked.

With zero appetite, I sipped peppermint tea through the afternoon and by dinner I was finally feeling up to eating. I made a version of my Saucy Rice that didn’t include black beans. It went down okay, but I didn’t feel back to normal. I settled back in on the couch, watched The Town and went to bed early.

Thankfully, I woke up this morning feeling much better. It was a beautiful, sunny day so I bundled up and went for a 9k run. My lower half was numb by the time I got home, but it was worth it! Felt great and full of energy all day.

On top of today’s to-do list? Make homemade granola. I’ve wanted to make it for some time now, but hadn’t gotten around to picking up all of the ingredients until now.

The recipe I used is a modified version of Oh She Glows’ Favourite Homemade Granola and includes a few ingredients I’ve never bought before. For example, I’m now the owner of a huge jar of coconut butter. Can’t wait to research recipes to put it to good use!

Dry ingredients:

2 ½ cups rolled oats

1 cup almonds, roughly chopped

½ cup walnuts, roughly chopped

½ cup sesame seeds

½ cup sunflower seeds

1 tsp ground cinnamon

½ tsp sea salt

Wet ingredients:

4 tbsp maple syrup

1 tbsp agave nectar

1 tbsp coconut butter

2 tbsp almond butter

1/3 cup brown sugar

Add-ins:

1/3 cup dried cranberries

1/3 cup raisins

Handful pumpkin seeds

Directions: In a medium saucepan over medium heat, add the wet ingredients. Stir well. Bring to a boil and simmer on low for about 5 minutes, stirring frequently.

In a large bowl, mix together the dry ingredients.

While still warm, add the wet mixture over the dry mixture and stir well until everything is thoroughly combined.

Spread onto a pan lined with parchment paper and bake in the oven for 30 minutes. Remove the pan from the oven after 15 minutes to stir.

Cool for 20-25 minutes on the pan, then add in the raisins, cranberries and pumpkin seeds.

And there you have it – happy snacking!

Now, I have dinner cooking on the stove – Joy’s Sweet Potato, Kale & Quinoa recipe, with a side of Brussels sprouts. Four things I love to eat.

This is going to be taste-tastic. (Yes – after reading about amino acids for the better part of the afternoon, my brain is a little mushy and apparently has taken to making up nonsensical words). Hooray for higher learning!

Responses

  1. looks very yummy!!

  2. That granola looks so good!


Leave a Reply

Categories

