Posted by: Kennedy | January 9, 2011

Don’t say goodbye, say so long

It’s official, friends – I am no longer gainfully employed. (Eep!)

Yesterday I packed up my desk – aka my home-away-from-home for the past three and a half years – and hugged my colleagues as my final full day of work came to an end.

It’s still hard to believe that chapter of my life is over and I’m going to be sitting in a classroom on Monday morning. But it did start to sink in as I was spoiled rotten by my lovely work friends, who not only took me out for several lunches and post-work drink outings, but also went over the top and gave me a few extremely generous parting gifts….

Love both of these cards. So thoughtful!

How awesome are these guys? These are THE perfect gifts for me – I’ve been dying for a spice rack for months now. And what better complement to a spice rack than a marble mortar and pestle? Amazing.

Work friends: you’ll be happy to know I’m already putting these gifts to good use as my stew simmers on the stove…

The really good news? I don’t have to say a true ‘goodbye’ to everyone at work. I’ll see them all from time to time while my role evolves to a part-time, mostly-from-home kind of gig. I’m lucky; this is going to make the work-to-school transition much easier… mentally, emotionally and financially.

Earlier this week, I decided to give myself a little back-to-school gift: I bought Clean Food by Terry Walters.

I’ve been curious about this book because of the format – it breaks down all of the recipes by season, so you’re always eating the freshest possible foods that are more likely to be grown locally.

I’ve already made two recipes from the Winter section: Butternut Squash Casserole and Sweet & Savory Root Vegetable Stew.

Got to test out my new hand blender from Santa!

I loved both recipes. They stick to your ribs, taste awesome and most importantly, were made from whole foods that were sitting in the grocery store not three hours ago.

One realization I made while making the stew: My little set of knives from Ikea are not good enough to peel and dice a rutabaga without my wondering seriously if I’m about to call 911 after slicing off a finger. It took at least 15 minutes of coaxing and precarious chopping, but I’m relieved to report that the stew is done and all 10 fingers remain in tact.

Now I’m going to tuck in to a glass of wine and watch a movie. On the agenda for tomorrow: running 10k with Joanna and shopping for school supplies… something I haven’t done since university. I think I’m still a clipboard kind of girl… hopefully I’m not the lone technology-resisting student in class!

Responses

  1. Best of luck with school Kennedy. I’m sure you’ll love it! It all looks yummy!

  2. you have such wonderful friends kennedy!! How thoughtful they are.
    Have fun at school tomorrow.
    luv, ~mom~


Leave a Reply

Categories

