Posted by: Kennedy | December 28, 2010

2010 in review

It’s December 28th. The holiday season has come and gone yet again. With the end of the year just a few short days away, I’m in the mood for a little reflection.

Here are some of my most memorable moments of 2010:

Officially registering as a student at the Institute of Holistic Nutrition

Crossing the finish line of my first half marathon (and, naturally, the lovely mimosas and oysters/brunch celebrations that followed)

Visiting New York City with Alana (sorry, can’t choose just one moment of such an awesome weekend)

Holding the newborn son of my friend Becky – the first one of my close friends to become a mom!

Touring Montreal with my mom and sister

Running pain-free after my first – and then second – doctor-ordered running hiatus

Writing my very first Running After Balance post

Starting a new tradition of hosting Cooking Clubs with Joanna, and creating from scratch – and devouring – about a dozen mouth-watering dishes in the process

Discovering home-made oatmeal and never buying boxed cereal ever again

Thanksgiving weekend shenanigans in Bayfield

Running hills in a summer monsoon

My first wipeout while running

Trying Brussels sprouts for the first time ever and loving them (they are now a weekly grocery store purchase)

Shedding the slightest of tears while watching Wicked at the Canon Theatre

All-out sprinting to the Rat Race finish line with Jo (and side-stepping a pile of puke afterwards)

Roots yoga classes/Bachelor nights with Chelle

Watching Cathy finish her first-ever 10k

The Night of Four Birthdays shenanigans at an Annex bar that we’ll never go to again

Attending a hilarious circus aerials class that left me full-body-sore for a week

Christmas festivities with all of my favourites – holiday lunches with coworkers, holiday drinks with friends, and Christmas feasting with my family. It’s the most wonderful time of the year.

As you can see, it’s been a pretty fantastic year. I laughed, and I cried. I was inspired, and I was liberated. I traveled. I trained. I tried new things (many, many new things). I tasted. I sipped. I just took it all in.

2010 was a year of discovery – I discovered new passions, and learned just how far I will go to pursue them. I discovered new foods. I discovered yoga. And I was exposed to many brilliant and innovative perspectives on health via the beautiful blogging world.

I think 2011 will be a year of change. Yes, change comes with each and every year, but I’m talking major change. Like career change. Like full-time-employee-turned-student change. And I couldn’t be more excited.

Happy New Year, friends. I wish you all the best for a healthy, lovely 2011.

Responses

  1. Top job, Kennedy. What a year!

    • Thanks Cait – it was, wasn’t it?

  2. Hi Kennedy,
    Awesome! I so enjoy reading your blog. Thanks for sharing. BTW, next time we’re in Ontario, we’re definitely coming over for dinner! It all just looks so scruptuous! Have a wonderful 2011 and all the best in your new endeavors. Lots O love, Aunt Melanie

    • Thanks Mel! I’ll start thinking of a recipe worthy of a once-a-year visit from the Pollons!

  3. You have had quite an exciting year Kennedy. And 2011 looks like more of the same…….well, different…….you know what i mean……more fun!


Leave a Reply

Categories

