Posted by: Kennedy | December 10, 2010

Random Thursday musings

Tonight I don’t much feel like writing. Just a guess, but this could be attributed to the food-induced coma I’m about to enter after a delicious, leisurely holiday lunch with my colleagues. I do, however, want to share a few things I’ve learned over the last week or so before I forget to mention them. Oh, and I hope you’ll indulge me in one minor rant before I go horizontal for the remainder of the evening.

Five things:

1) I had my first-ever wipeout while on an early morning run last week. It was painful and embarrassing. I didn’t just bruise my knees and scrape the crap out of my palm; my pride suffered a bit of a blow as well. And yet somehow, falling made me feel kind of hard-core. Why? All it proves is that I’m clumsy and uncoordinated. Sometimes I wonder about myself…

2) When you wear your water belt in -12 temperatures, your water will eventually turn to ice. It’s science, or something…

3) Caprese salad kabobs are easy, delicious, and can be made in under five minutes whilst drinking wine and chatting with friends. I love a multi-tasker appetizer. Just place a cherry tomato, a ball of bocconcini and a leaf of fresh basil on a toothpick, repeat as many times as desired (lots), and drizzle balsamic vinegar and olive oil on top.

4) Indian food, though it requires a solid spice rack, is ridiculously simple to make. Blog post about last night’s awesome Cooking Club will follow in the days to come. For now, here’s a photo of the end result:


5) When given a choice, I will almost always choose crème brulee.

And now, a minor rant:

I can appreciate that runners and pedestrians can get in the way sometimes. Jaywalkers are annoying, I get it. And they only have themselves to blame when they are narrowly missed by an oncoming vehicle… and subsequently honked at and/or cursed.

But when it’s 6:30 a.m., there’s little traffic and almost zero distraction for a driver, there are NO excuses for almost hitting a runner trying to cross the street at a CROSSWALK. I know it’s early, but please, for everyone’s sake – look in front of your vehicle before you take your foot off the brake. And maybe drink an extra cup of coffee before you leave your house in the morning. Or, you know, get a little more sleep? Runners everywhere will appreciate it. A broken leg would kind of ruin my race this weekend… not to mention my entire winter.

I should add that the driver, having realized he’d just about run me over, quickly rolled down his window and apologized as he turned the corner. I appreciated that.

I often slow down as I approach a corner where a car is waiting, trying to assess the situation. In a best-case scenario, I even make eye contact with the driver before crossing the street.

But perhaps, in addition to these precautions, I should also invest in bright jacket to make sure I’m visible on the dark winter days ahead. I run in black from top to bottom, aside from a pair of white earmuffs. Probably not the best colour choice?

Okay, rant over. Couch time!

Responses

  1. def get some reflective gear! I think it will help. Maybe on your Christmas wish list?

    • Great idea! 🙂

  2. That creme brulee looks soooo yummy!!
    Have a great race this weekend!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

