Posted by: Kennedy | November 15, 2010

Bipolar weekend: Trapeze vs Couch

I can sum up my weekend in one word: bipolar.

Okay, that was a little bit cryptic so my description may require more words. Let’s try this on for size: Saturday was busy, active and social. Sunday was lazy and unproductive, with little interaction with the outside world. Saturday I ate out (twice! Whoops). Sunday I made a yummy new recipe.

Perhaps these two extremes cancel each other out and add up to a balanced weekend? Hmmm…

I’m feeling a little blah tonight so I’ll try to keep the rambling to a minimum.

I kicked off the weekend with a spin class after work on Friday. It had been SO long since I attended a class that my bum completely lost its tolerance for the uncomfortable stationary bike seats. Two days later, it still hurts to sit. But it was a really great workout and I left feeling exhausted and awesome.

Saturday morning began with a 12k run along the Lakeshore with Joanna. It was the first time we’d run together since the half-marathon! Obviously, I loved having my running buddy back, and we’re now officially training for the Tannenbaum 10k on December 12th. So excited to have another race on the horizon!

Though the sky was gray, it was still a lovely morning for a run:

 

After our run, I rushed home to shower and eat a quick lunch of salad and Saucy Rice leftovers before I was out the door again to meet some girlfriends for a very unusual Saturday afternoon activity: a private instruction in circus aerials at Cirque-ability! One of the girls stumbled upon a steal of a deal for the class a few months ago.

I had absolutely no clue what to expect. After we signed our lives away on a slightly scary-sounding waiver, we met our extremely strong and graceful instructor. He coached us through each ‘trick’ and, with his help, all six of us made it through the class without breaking our necks. Hooray!

We took turns trying out each move, starting with the trapeze (apologies for the blurry photos):

Followed by the aerial hoop:

And finally, the silk (a.k.a rope of pain):

It was HARD. And, at times, awkward. Some of my friends were incredibly graceful and looked like naturals. I, however, was the opposite. I felt clumsy and uncoordinated. This class, while quite entertaining and fun, made it painfully obvious that I need to do some serious core and upper body work. Especially when I woke up this morning sore, bruised and blistered.

It was, however, very cool to try something totally new and challenging. There’s talk of doing a belly dancing class next 🙂

To reward ourselves, we headed to this great little place in the Annex called Insomnia where we refueled with snacks and drinks.

It was a pretty fantastic day.

Today, on the other hand…

Not only am I unbelievably sore – calves, wrists, palms, back, shoulders, chest, armpits, you name it – I also spent most of the day horizontal on the couch, feeling totally lethargic. I had to force myself to go to the grocery store, the errand I look most forward to. Even my appetite has been wonky.

I wasn’t feeling up to much for dinner, so I decided to make something really fast and healthy: Quinoa & Black Bean Stuffed Peppers.

I actually created this recipe on my own, based on what I had on hand. And I’m quite proud of myself because they turned out delicious!

Ingredients:

–       1 red bell pepper, cored, seeded and cut in half

–       1/2 cup cooked quinoa

–       ½ cup black beans

–       ¼ cup red onion

–       10 grape tomatoes, halved

–       2 tsp dried basil

–       pepper

–       ½ cup shredded mozzarella cheese

Directions:

In a bowl, mix together quinoa, beans, onion, tomatoes, basil and pepper.

Scoop onto bell peppers, cover with cheese.

Heat oven to 400 and cook for 10-15 minutes. Enjoy!

 

To add some green to my plate, I had a few Brussels sprouts smothered in butter, sea salt and pepper. Mmmm… I’m feeling better already.

Did you have a ‘balanced’ weekend?

Leave a Reply

Categories

