Posted by: Kennedy | November 3, 2010

I have news!

I’m very excited about today’s post because I have an announcement to make…

It’s a big one.

This is no usual ‘I went for an awesome run’ post. You won’t find a detailed series of recipe photos below.

No, today’s news is life-altering.

Intrigued? Curious? Dying with anticipation?

Good.  That’s what I was going for.

Okay! Here it is:

I’M GOING BACK TO SCHOOL!

This January, I will give up my 9-to-5 gig and return to my life as a full-time student. I’m enrolled at the Institute of Holistic Nutrition (IHN) in Toronto. When I graduate, I’ll have a diploma in Applied Holistic Nutrition and will be certified to work as a nutritional consultant.

I haven’t mentioned it on the blog, but I’ve been researching careers in health and nutrition for almost a year now. While I do enjoy my current job in communications, I’ve known for some time that it’s not my passion…

But I didn’t really know what I was passionate about until I fell in love with running last fall. And through running, I also discovered a love for healthy cooking and living. I spent so much of my time outside work pursuing these loves, and I found myself becoming more and more envious of the people who got to make a living doing what they loved.

So I started looking at schools. At first, I considered going back to university to complete an undergrad degree in nutrition, with a goal to eventually become a Registered Dietitian. Factoring in the number of years and thousands of dollars in debt this would take, I realized I needed to explore other options.

That’s when I found IHN, which specializes in ‘alternative nutrition’ training for holistic health. The philosophy is similar to that of a naturopath’s – the aim is “to unify the physical, nutritional, environmental, emotional and spiritual components of the client’s life to achieve optimal health and well-being.”

Basically, I’ll learn a lot about how to address nutritional imbalances and weaknesses naturally.

Thanks to Joy at Joyous Health and Miranda at Miranda’s Jeans for taking the time to chat with me/blog about their experiences at IHN. All of this information was so helpful to me as I tried to navigate my options – I really appreciate it!

When I made this decision official last week, I was so excited I went for a “happy run.” Usually, I’m motivated to run to relieve stress or clear my head, or because I’m feeling tired/run-down (running actually makes me feel more energetic)…

But last week, I got home from my appointment at the school and literally could not sit still. I was so excited I couldn’t do anything but lace up my running shoes. And it was my fastest run in months. Coincidence? I think not.

To celebrate my big announcement, a new lunch treat:

Two slices of Organic Granary toast (Ace Bakery brand – my favourite bread ever!), topped with almond butter and blueberries. My first time trying this combo – it was really delicious. The blueberries added that extra ‘oomph’ to regular old boring toast.

Combined that with a plate of fresh raw veggies and hummus! Mmmm…. a plate of health.

 

Responses

  1. Congratulations, Kennedy! You’re going to be awesome.

  2. I’m soooo excited for you Kennedy!! And proud.
    It takes courage to make a dream a reality in your life. It’s a whole new adventure for you.

  3. That’s amazing Kennedy!! Congratulations on taking the next step to make your dream come true 🙂

  4. Thanks lovelies! Your encouraging words will motivate me while I’m trying to make it through biochemistry!!

  5. OMG! Kennedy, you’re doing it! Congratulations. Way to reach for your dreams! Woo Hoo!

  6. Kennedy, Biochem is a breeze, and I failed high school bio and chem LOL. Seriously Linda is the best biochem teacher evah!

    I’m super pumped for you, and we will def arrange a post class get together.

    • Ahhh! That is VERY good news.
      And thanks! I will surely have a serious case of back-to-school jitters so a friendly face will be nice 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

