Posted by: Kennedy | November 2, 2010

Goopy breakfast, epic dinner

Happy new month! I cannot believe it’s already November. This has been the fastest year of my life.

I kicked off the month with two new recipes: breakfast and dinner. One was epic. The other was meh.

Recently, I’ve become curious about overnight oats. Angela at Oh She Glows offers up dozens of versions of these healthy breakfast options, most of which are vegan. For months now, my morning routine has included oats with nuts, seeds and fruit over almond milk. I decided to try a twist on the usual by preparing everything the night before and letting it sit in the fridge overnight.

Last night before bed, I mixed 1/3 cup extra thick oats, 3/4 cup almond milk, 2 tablespoons chia seeds, 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract and 1/2 banana chopped in a bowl. This morning, I added a handful each of blueberries and raisins, a spoonful of almond butter and a drizzle of maple syrup.

Sounds delicious. Looks pretty good to me…

But I did not love it.

The first few bites were interesting. And I managed to make it through more than half the bowl. But in the end, I gave up. I just couldn’t deal with the texture. It was… goopy. That’s the only word I can think of to accurately describe the consistency. Mushy, soggy….goop.

 

Maybe I’ll try overnight oats again some day. Or hot oatmeal. But for now, I’m sticking to my homemade cereal in the mornings.

Fast forward 9 or 10 hours, and I was back home thinking about what to make for dinner. My mind was consumed with thoughts of a sweet potato-and-baked beans combo I’ve seen on Caitlin’s blog.

Tell me, is it possible to crave something you’ve never eaten? That’s how I felt tonight.

Luckily, I had all the ingredients required. All two of them.

I washed a (mutant) sweet potato, jabbed it a few times with a fork, wrapped it in wet paper towel and popped it in the microwave for 9 minutes. After (carefully) taking it out, I sliced it down the centre and let it cool while I nuked a cup of baked beans for 2 minutes. I poured the beans over the potato. That’s it. Dinner in 11 minutes flat.

I know it sounds a little weird, but it was fannnnntastic.

This meal was so filling I could only eat about half. We’ll see how it is heated up for lunch…

What foods have you been craving lately?

Responses

  1. OK, Overnight Oats or VOO in my house are a breakfast staple second only to Green Monsters *however after a pint of lemon water in the am paired with my 1.5hr commute to school is not a happy combination lol*

    Alright a couple of suggestions 1 give them another shot, over the weekend that way if they still suck then you have time to make something else.

    1. only use 1tbsp of chia seeds with that nut milk to oat ratio.
    2. I let my VOO sit out on the counter for 5 mins or so before I eat them
    3. I add another splash of nut milk to my VOO before consumption to make them a little smoother/creamier in texture.
    4. I mash my nut butter in with the banana, and even, this helps with the creaminess of the VOO (sometimes then add an extra dollop when I’m about to eat it)

    • Thanks for the tips Miranda! Really, I want to like VOO, I do… I’ll try your suggestions and give them one more shot. I think I definitely had too many chia seeds in there the first time…


Leave a Reply

Categories

