Posted by: Kennedy | November 1, 2010

Halloween pumpkin penne

In honour of Halloween, I decided that tonight’s dinner recipe must feature pumpkin. I may not have trick-or-treaters at my door, but I can still mark the festivities in my own special way – by cooking something orange and delicious.

 

It took some time and a few Google searches, but I finally came across what seemed the perfect recipe. Rachael Ray’s Penne-wise Pumpkin Pasta. Pennywise a.k.a. affordable. Cooking word play. Awesome.

 

Cheap, healthy, and hello, pumpkin pasta? Two of my favourite things combined into one dish. Cue the happy dance.

 

I started out by making a trip to the grocery store, fueled by an S’bucks latte and pumpkin loaf (yes, today had a bit of a theme).

 

My ingredients:

I made a few substitutions to Rachael’s recipe:

Instead of heavy cream, I used almond milk.

Instead of sage leaves (I searched and searched at the store), I used fresh basil.

I didn’t add hot pepper sauce.

And I didn’t add nutmeg – added a third pinch of cinnamon instead.

Directions were straight-forward and it took no time to prepare this meal.

I started by boiling water for pasta, and in the meantime heating 2 tablespoons olive oil in a skillet. Then added 3 teaspoons minced garlic and 3 shallots, finely chopped. I cooked this over medium heat for about 6 minutes.

Then I stirred in 1 can pumpkin, 1/2 cup almond milk and 2 cups low-sodium chicken broth…

And finally, 3 pinches cinnamon, pepper and salt. I let this simmer over low heat for another 5 minutes.

 

And just before it was time to mix it with the pasta (1 box whole wheat penne), I threw in 7 leaves basil, thinly sliced.

 

And voila: Halloween-themed dinner!

To my surprise, I didn’t actually love this meal. It tasted a bit bland – maybe if I’d stuck to the recipe it would have been different. But adding pepper, sea salt and parmesan cheese helped. And I’m hoping leftovers will taste better once the flavours have more time to blend together (I made six servings after all…)

 

After I tackle the dirty dishes, I’m going to make me some overnight oats! I’ve been looking forward to trying these as so many bloggers swear by them as their staple breakfast. My store-bought cereal is getting too pricey for me, so I’m trying to make the switch to a cheaper, more homemade version.

 

Happy Halloween! Anyone making some tasty treats tonight?

 

Responses

  1. Well, an interesting recipe for sure. We were boring here, just barbecued oktoberfest sausage.
    But i did make “orange” carrots. that’s a hallowe’en colour at least. Oh, and i took a pumpkin pie out of the freezer and we had that for dessert…..more hallowe’en theme 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

