Posted by: Kennedy | September 20, 2010

Pumpkin treats and healthy eats

Here we are at the end of another short-lived weekend… I am so not ready for Monday yet.

Today I enjoyed a good balance of fun and work, healthy and not-so-healthy….just as it should be.

After my run, I met up with my friend Michelle for what’s quickly becoming a tradition for us: ice cream at Summer’s in Yorkville.

I walked in and saw they had a new flavour: PUMPKIN. Oh heck yes.

I'm smitten.

It did not disappoint.

Michelle is also head over heels...

It was quite warm out in the sun so we sat and people-watched while we chatted, then wandered around window shopping.

After a few hours we went our separate ways and I found myself heading to Starbucks for yet another latte (more pumpkin – I’m seriously obsessed) and a place to finally get some chemistry homework done. I get too distracted in my apartment – the computer, the TV, the kitchen… they’re always calling my name.

After a few solid hours of work, my stomach was getting grumbly so I headed home for dinner. I reheated the roasted veggies from last night and basically inhaled them – they were possibly even better the second time around.

I ate them up so fast that I barely had room for the rice dish I made to go with them.

But from the few bites I did have, this recipe is a winner.

Adapted from Ashley’s Saucy Rice recipe, this meal is quick, satisfying and SO EASY to make.

Saucy Rice 2.0:

Ingredients:

–       2 tsp garlic, minced

–       1 tsp dried basil

–       Pepper

–       ½ red onion, chopped

–       1 tomato, chopped

–       I small can tomato sauce

–       ½ can black beans, drained and rinsed

–       Parmesan cheese

First, sauté garlic, basil and pepper in olive oil over medium heat for 2 minutes.

Add onion, cook another 4-5 minutes or until soft.

Add tomato, cook another 3 minutes.

Add tomato sauce and black beans, simmer for 10 minutes.

Remove from heat and pour sauce over cooked brown rice. Sprinkle parmesan on top.

Mix together and enjoy!

The good thing about filling up on veggies and leaving half your food on your plate?

This is a rare occurrence...

Lunch is automatically taken care of for tomorrow – and probably the next day and the day after that….there’s a lot of extra sauce and rice. I just love leftovers.

Responses

  1. YUM!!! Pumpkin ice cream must be soooo tasty!!
    And i am soooo going to make that rice dish!!
    have a good week. Luv ~mom~


Leave a Reply

Categories

