Posted by: Kennedy | September 19, 2010

Glorious Saturday

Ahhh, Saturday. You are glorious.

I woke up this morning to the sound of my alarm.

(What? I set my alarm on weekends. Sleeping in makes my days off shorter.)

I glanced at the clock: 9 a.m. I let out a stream of profanities and threw off the covers, thinking I was going to be horribly late for work. It wasn’t until my groggy and slightly hungover brain recalled the events of the previous night that I realized it was Saturday. I breathed a sigh of relief and did a happy dance in my head as I sank back onto the bed for a few more minutes of lazy bliss.

I got up and immediately pounded a glass of water, in an attempt to negate the effects of four glasses of pinot grigio and several greasy appetizers – Emily, you are a bad influence on me (and I love you for it).

I made a conscious effort to try to make today a healthier day. I ate breakfast – Peanut Butter Puffins cereal (thank you, Whole Foods!) in almond milk.

Then, I headed to Roots for a sweat-inducing Ashtanga/Vinyasa class. I love this combo of yoga because it’s both a cardio workout (seriously, I drip all over my mat) and a great stretching session. I always come out of class feeling lighter and more energized.

Afterwards, I made my usual trip to Starbucks for a latte – it took all my willpower but I held off on the pumpkin spice today.

I walked home starving and immediately fixed up an omelet for lunch: two eggs, red pepper, red onion and feta cheese with Ace Bakery organic whole wheat bread on the side. Mmmm…

Note: This is not today's omelet... I was too hungry to take a photo.

After a few hours of vegging on the couch, it was time to hit the grocery store. Call me a freak, but I really look forward to getting my groceries on the weekends. It’s such an amazing feeling to have a fridge and cupboard full of everything I need to make awesome meals and snacks whenever I want (note, that’s cupboard, singular. My kitchen is tiny).

Today wasn’t as enjoyable. Loblaws was PACKED. Mostly with families and small children running around. There were at least three kids that came dangerously close to getting stepped on or bonked on the head with my basket. Hey kids, don’t push my buttons when I’m shopping hungry.

Anyway. I managed to get out without starting a fight with a parent and when I came home, I knew exactly what to make for dinner.

A giant plate of roasted vegetables.

I’ve been craving this ever since I started needing to wear a jacket in the morning. This meal just makes me warm and cozy.

In the mix: butternut squash, baby potatoes, sweet potatoes, carrots, parsnips and red onion, with fresh rosemary and thyme, olive oil, balsamic vinegar, pepper and sea salt.

It takes a bit of prep work to chop up all the veggies but it’s worth it.

While I waited for everything to cook, I snacked on an appetizer of tomato slices topped with boccoccini cheese and pepper.


My tips for making perfect roasted veg:

–       Don’t use too much olive oil. I’m always tempted to use a lot so the veggies don’t burn or stick to the pan, but you often don’t need as much as you think. Tonight I used a recipe that called for ¼ cup and it was more than enough.

–       Remove from oven and stir every 10 minutes until veggies are cooked through and browned. It’s tough to get every piece coated when they’re cold.

–       All veg is not created equal, so don’t cut each type of veggie the same way. Softer veggies, like onion and butternut squash, take less time to cook so you can cut those into thicker pieces than harder ones like carrots and potatoes.

I paired my roasted veg with a serving of brown rice. It was a very tasty, satisfying dinner… the only thing missing was a nice glass of red wine. Should have added ‘liquor store’ to my list of places to visit today.

I have 6k planned in the morning. It’s going to feel strange not to need a gel or even electrolytes for a Sunday run for once… I could get used to this whole tapering thing…

Enjoy your weekends, friends!

Responses

  1. Yumm! Looks good!


Leave a Reply

Categories

