Posted by: Kennedy | September 17, 2010

I choose not to run

Every day is made up of choices. Lots of them.

I make a choice when I press snooze on the alarm in the morning. I make a better choice when I finally drag my bum out of bed.

I make a choice to eat breakfast.

I make a choice to walk to the subway or take the bus.

I make a choice not to give in and get that apple fritter when I’m ordering my morning coffee.

I make a choice about what to have for dinner (usually around 3 p.m. when my mind inevitably wanders to my anticipated evening meal…)

I make a choice to put off my chemistry homework for yet another night…

And I make a choice to run, or not to run.

This week, my mind and body have been battling it out, back and forth, about whether or not I should run after work.

My running buddy is out of commission this week so it’s all up to me to motivate myself.

Yesterday, my mind won. I was feeling tired and stressed, and my body was being a wuss. It was urging me to just go home, sit on the couch and zone out in front of the TV. “Speed training hurts. Why put us through that again??” my leg muscles whined.

But my brain kicked in and said, “Suck it up. It’s the last speed session before the race. Just go, do it, get it over with.” My mind rationalized the run in all kinds of crazy ways: I’d gone to the trouble to pack my running clothes, shoes, water belt and hat… lugged it all the way to the office… and all that effort would be for nothing if I just went home to the couch. Also, I’d eaten two snacks in the past two hours, not necessarily out of hunger but because I knew I’d need fuel…. If I went home, I wouldn’t be hungry for dinner.

And before I knew it, I was changing into my gear, filling up my water bottles and walking over to Running Room. Yesterday, I chose to run.

Today, I had the same choices to make. I only pressed snooze once. I took the bus to the subway. I resisted the apple fritter. And when it came time to choose to run or not to run… I chose not to.

Today, I listened to my body.

Yes, my muscles were a bit sore from my 4 sets of Yasso 800s last night (yowza! But what an awesome workout).

Yes, I was still tired. No, I wasn’t feeling very motivated without my running buddy.

But what really affected my decision today? The weather.

It was cold, rainy and depressing all day long. My coworkers and I had a lunch date with a former colleague not two blocks from the office, and we took a cab there and back. Every time I had to venture outdoors, I got a chill up my spine. I know I just rambled on about how much I love fall, but I do NOT love dreary days like today.

I just couldn’t do it. My body won out over my mind.

Instead of beating myself up about it, I’m reminding myself that I can’t be ‘on’ all the time. I can’t follow the plan every single day. Once in a while, I have to listen to my body, my mood, and that little voice in my head that says “Today, you don’t have to.”

I’m just starting my taper week a few days early.

So, in the words of Jerry Seinfeld, “I choose not to run!”

Responses

  1. I chose not to run today too, so don’t feel bad!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

