Posted by: Kennedy | June 9, 2010

Fancy comfort foods… and the return of the run!

Everyone has a favourite comfort food. Some wonderful dish that makes your insides all warm and fuzzy. A food that can help you forget about your terrible day. A food that feels like an old friend.

For me, grilled cheese and chicken noodle soup were go-to comfort foods growing up. Mom’s buttery whipped potatoes also did the trick. And I never had a problem a box of President’s Choice white cheddar macaroni and cheese couldn’t fix.

Enter my 2010 food revolution.

One day, I was searching for a brilliant new recipe in (you guessed it) Food & Drink, when I came across an intriguing photo, with an even more intriguing name: Majestic Mac & Cheese. I thought to myself: YES – that’s happening!!

Mac & cheese fit for a king!

I was so excited to try it out that I wasn’t deterred in the slightest by the long-ish list of ingredients. If anything, I was super curious – white wine? Pancetta? They weren’t messing around.

Soon afterwards, I caught a Rachael Ray episode where she prepared something called Uptown Tuna Casserole. In keeping with the ‘upscale twist on comfort food’ trend I seemed to be following, I furiously scribbled notes as Rachael ran through the recipe. It required another trip to the LCBO for white wine (I love using wine in my cooking – it makes me feel like a real foodie!) as well as the market for leeks, tarragon and several other items I don’t normally keep in my kitchen.

Unfortunately, I made this dish prior to starting the blog and therefore have no photographic evidence of its fabulousness. You’ll just have to make it for yourself!

The thing I love about casseroles is that they are SO EASY to make. Just get everything together, throw it in a pan and cook it. Then throw some cheese on top and bake it. Tah-dah! I might have missed a whisk or two in there, but that’s basically it.

Just make sure you’ve got help to eat it – both of these recipes make enough for at least 8 servings. It says less, but trust me – it’s a lot of food. I had fridge leftovers AND freezer leftovers in both cases. I even brought some in for my coworker to have for lunch, after discovering our mutual love for tuna casserole. 🙂

It’s no coincidence I made both of these meals while on running hiatuses. I needed plenty of comfort during those times. However, I am extremely happy to report that I’ve been given the OK to start hitting the pavement again!!!!!! (That’s not to say I won’t continue to enjoy the odd casserole, though….).

In the past week, I’ve ran 8 km (3.5 and 4.5, respectively) with zero knee pain. I don’t want to get ahead of myself, but it’s very encouraging. Especially since this means I’ll be able to complete the race I signed up for pre-injury. On Thursday evening, I’m partaking in a very ‘cheesy’ 5k – the Scotiabank Rat Race for United Way. I’ve attended the event for the past few years as a volunteer, but this is my first timing running in it. Super excited – especially since a group of coworkers are joining me! Stay tuned for the race recap.

Responses

  1. Hey, hope the run is great……ps, can you make that yummy sounding casserole next time you come home? Luv ya, mom


Leave a Reply

Categories

