Posted by: Kennedy | May 26, 2010

New food of the week: Brussels sprouts

I don’t think I was the only kid who turned up her nose at this ‘smelly’ veggie. My mom never even tried to make us eat it – with five children who were tough to please at the kitchen table, she learned to choose her battles. One of my brothers didn’t like peas. I didn’t like cooked carrots. My sister wouldn’t touch beans. If she’d tried to serve up Brussels sprouts for dinner, we would have taken one look and laughed in her face.

But it was only a matter of time before this little vegetable was added to my grocery list for me to test-drive.

A few weeks back, I was in the mood for burgers. I never buy them because I don’t own a BBQ or a grilling device of any kind (birthday coming up, hint hint mom). I’ve made mention before that I think oven-baked or pan-fried burgers are disgusting. But I came across a recipe for Southwestern Turkey Burgers that looked intriguing – and I already had the ground turkey in the freezer – so I figured I’d give it a go.

Cooking (very thick!) turkey burgers on the stove

Instead of grabbing the traditional French fry side dish, I decided this was as good a time as any to try the sprouts. After looking up the cooking method (I heart Google), I cut little ‘T’s into the stems, boiled and buttered them. I took my first (somewhat skeptical) bite, and to my surprise, I LOVED them. They are perfect little portions of crunchy, satisfying yumminess – and so easy to make. It was a welcome discovery.

Along with my turkey burger, which I topped with mozzarella, avocado and ketchup, it was a very successful meal.

Burgers & Brussels sprouts = healthy indulgence

Off to watch The Biggest Loser season finale – this show makes my heart stop!

Leave a Reply

Categories

