Posted by: Kennedy | May 4, 2010

New Food of the Week: Parsnips

I used to walk up and down the produce aisle of the grocery store, selecting the same veggies week after week. They were the crunchy foods I grew up on and knew exactly what to do with: cucumber, carrots, celery, peppers, onion, tomatoes. The odd zucchini. Broccoli or cauliflower. Asparagus, if I was feeling really adventurous.

But that got boring. And it led me to reach for less healthy foods in my cupboard when I wanted a snack, instead of those nutrient-rich super foods waiting patiently in my refrigerator.

So this January, I decided to make a few New Year’s resolutions that would force me out of my food rut: Cook A New Recipe and Try Something New every week.

So far, it’s been an eye-opening experience. I’ve been bypassing all these amazing foods for years! And it’s far less intimidating to figure out how to prepare them than I’d imagined – a quick Google search always suffices.

Some highlights include: sweet potatoes, turnip, spaghetti squash and the latest: parsnips!

I’ve always noticed those white root things that looked like overgrown carrots – and I’m slightly embarrassed to admit I didn’t even know what they were called until a few months ago.

This week, I decided it was time to try them. One of my favourite bloggers, Caitlin over at healthytippingpoint.com, always posts these awesome-looking meals featuring parsnips. So I tried one of my own last night.

I was pressed for time, so I chose this mashed parsnip recipe:

Chicken, Parsnips & Broccoli

Mashed Parsnips

1 lb Fresh parsnips; peeled and sliced

Butter (to taste)

Pepper (to taste)

1/4 c Brown sugar

2 tb Finely minced parsley

Steam or boil parsnips in a saucepan in 1/2 cup of water until each slice pierces easily. Drain water. Add all remaining ingredients and stir and blend to desired consistency. Either lumpy or smoothly mashed, fresh parsnips prepared this way are distinctive and incredibly delicious. Serves 4.

It was indeed incredibly delicious! I had the parsnips with some baked chicken and steamed broccoli, and a glass of red wine. Mmmm…

Next time, I’ll try roasting them in the oven. I also recently discovered that roasted veggies are fantastic.

What’s your favourite veggie? How do you prepare it?

Responses

  1. well, i’m embarrassed to say that i have never tried parsnips either. So i guess you get it honestly. My excuse…..if i cooked anything out of the ordinary when you kids were young, you would have complained loudly. So i stuck to the basics so everyone would eat. Not much of an excuse…..if adventurous cooking had been the “norm”, you would have accepted it fine probably.


Leave a Reply

Categories

