Posted by: Kennedy | March 28, 2010

Time to join the conversation

After spending a solid amount of my free time in the past year reading some really smart, funny blogs about food, cooking, fitness and health, I’ve finally decided it’s time I start one of my own.

I’ve always loved to write, and living a balanced, healthy lifestyle has always been important to me.

But recently I’ve become much more passionate about cooking my own meals from scratch, learning more about nutrition and setting more challenging fitness goals for myself.

Here’s why I think that is…

In spring 2009, I took the trip of a lifetime – I backpacked around Europe for three months with my younger brother. It was an absolutely incredible experience. As someone who had never left North America, and taken exactly two flights in her entire life, this was a HUGE deal. Along with visiting 14 countries, seeing hundreds of famous sights, learning tons about each country’s history and meeting a lot of fantastic people, I ate amazing food. Seriously amazing, fresh, locally-grown, nutritious, melt-in-your-mouth, REAL food.

Like this:

Eating amazing roasted veggies in Greece!

And this:

When in Rome...

It opened my eyes to the kind of garbage that we often pass off as ‘food’ here in Canada. While I consider myself to be a pretty healthy eater (no one has to tell me to eat my veggies!), I’m far from perfect. And though I wish I could say I’ve kept up my European eating habits (eating meals, not snacking, eating very few processed foods, AND enjoying dessert almost daily – guilt-free!), it’s extremely tough when your environment is not exactly conducive to this eating style. Office baked goods, anyone?

I am, however, a lot more aware of what I’m putting in my body. And I’ve developed a desire to cook more of my meals from scratch in an effort to reduce my intake of processed chemicals while boosting my intake of fresh, nutritious foods. Plus, I get a real sense of accomplishment when I cook. That’s why one of my New Year’s resolutions for 2010 was to cook a new recipe at least once a week. After 12 successful weeks, it’s become more a ritual than a goal.

Then there’s the running.

I’ve always been pretty active. As a child I was an avid swimmer, figure skater and dancer – I step danced competitively for 10 years and taught lessons through high school. I also played soccer and went for the odd run. Through university, I went to the gym regularly to take fitness classes and work out on the elliptical machine. And after moving to Toronto and starting my first ‘big girl’ job, I joined my local YMCA and became hooked on spinning classes.

In October 2009, I decided to train for a 10K with a coworker. It was an amazing experience for me, and in just 10 short weeks, I had turned into an addict. I finished my first ever race, the 10.8K Egg Nog Jog, in 1:06, and I couldn’t have been happier.

Done!

After suffering a knee injury (more on that later), I’m back hitting the pavement, training for my second 10K this May.

As part of our training clinic at the Running Room, we had seminars on various topics delivered by health professionals. One seminar that I found particularly interesting was about what to eat if you’re a runner. Of course, I knew that certain foods served as better fuel for your body than others, but I’d never really thought about how what you eat can improve or hinder your athletic performance. I find it fascinating and plan to do more research on this as I increase my distance.

So in a nutshell, this blog is an outlet for me to rant, rave, and share my experiences as I strive for optimal health and balance in my life. And hopefully, it will be a tool for me to discuss with other like-minded folks whom I know I have much to learn from!

Responses

  1. What you are doing is awesome- it is nice to see people making the change to live a clean and active life style. I am a true believer in clean eating and an active marathoner.

    • Thanks Angelika! It’s been so long – what are you up to these days? Aside from running marathons?! That’s incredible – my ultimate goal is to run one someday. Congrats 🙂

  2. Indeed… a long time. You will get there sooner than you think. Once, the running bug bites you- it’s hard to stop. I have my first race of the year at the end of May in Ottawa.
    Of all places, I live in Milton and working for a customs consulting firm in Mississauga. I am really looking forward to this fall, going back to school to become a registered nurse. I will be going to Switzerland for three weeks in August.
    Sounds, like you had wonderful time in Europe. What are you doing now a days?

  3. I will be an avid reader Kennedy, perhaps you can find me some good recipes. I love the use of that photo for your flag.

    I don’t know why I call it a flag. The newspaper in me.


Leave a Reply

Categories

